There Is Only One Tree Hill

On our way to Myrtle Beach, we made a pit stop in Wilmington, NC where we planned on stalking the sites of the television show of One Tree Hill.  A show that I have professed my love for and that I was thrilled to be able to stalk a little bit.

As a professed enthusiast, slightly obsessive fan going to Wilmington and finding the places that were so pertinent to the show really made me extremely happy.

We didn’t see everything.  There is no way we would have been able to do that, but we did get to see a lot and I took plenty of pictures.  I think that my most favorite things were the ones that were actual places from the show.  The awnings from Clothes over Bros.  The painted doorway in that exact same spot for Karen’s Cafe.  The door to Tric.  It was so great and I’m so glad that we did it.

As we were driving around and snapping pictures of houses and seeing the things that made the show what it was, I made a comment to my friend that still holds true for me.  I told her that although these houses belonged to real people, I didn’t feel like I was stalking those people.  I felt like I was stalking the characters.

Now, we didn’t go up to the houses and ask if we could go inside or anything.  We didn’t even go up and take pictures on steps or at the doors.  We did drive by snapshots of the houses and called it a day.  I didn’t want to be rude, but it was really neat to see all of the things.

My only regret is that it wasn’t a Saturday, so we couldn’t tour the studios.  I think that it would have been really fun and exciting to have been able to take the walking tour of the studios.  To be able to see everything that was inside and such.  So, I guess I’ll have to add that to a list of things to do if I ever go back down that way.

My most favorite part was probably the door of Tric.  It’s a warehouse door that is in a slightly sketchy part of town (or so it seems).  But the door itself and the bricks on the building are filled with messages from people.

The door at Tric

I even managed to leave my mark.

Bricks with writing

I wish I’d had a sharpie in my bag or something I could have actually written a message with, but I left my initials and where I was from just to say that I could with nail polish that happened to be in my purse.  It made me happy that I was able to leave my mark there since One Tree Hill has been such a huge part of my life.

Have you ever been to Wilmington? (it really is a nice little city)  What about where your favorite show/movie was filmed?  Have you ever stalked the places that were such a huge part of it?

Leave a comment