New Year’s Resolutions Check In

I have, once again, fallen behind in my blogging schedule here. Of course, I had no set schedule and I had no idea that I would fall behind – in theory – but I am behind where (in my mind) I wanted to be. So I’m going to do the best that I can to make up for that this week (which will be easy), but to also stick with it more regularly as I continue on throughout this year.

So, today is a new year’s resolution check in. This is something that should have been posted last week (all of the posts that are going to come up this week should have been posted last week, but at least I’m getting them out there).

If you recall, I had three new year’s resolutions that I made at the beginning of the year. And, so far, I’ve kept all of them (so yay for that!). Unfortunately, the secondary things that I hoped to come from these resolutions haven’t necessarily started yet. But the habits are there. And, now I can start to work on the secondary things I was hoping to come.

  1. Read 52 books this year. I am on track (maybe a little bit behind) in this goal. Early next week, I will review my January books (because I haven’t gotten to it yet). I just started what is supposed to be a middle grade book, but feels a lot more YA than middle grade. But, on track – maybe a little behind. I’m on my 6th book for the year and read 4 complete books (and started my 5th) before January was over.
    Secondarily, I had hoped that this would push me to start writing a novel. This hasn’t happened yet, but I am beginning to work on incorporating more creative writing into my daily schedule.
  2. Do yoga every day. I am happy to say that this has been very successful. Since the end of January and Yoga Revolution (which you can expect a review on later this week), I have been a little more lax and done a little less some days – only doing 10 minutes for a couple of days. But I have done yoga every single day. As I embark on a new month here, I am trying to figure out if I think that PiYo (a BeachBody program) counts as yoga or if I want to add that in as part of a workout program and still do a 5-10 minute yoga program in either the morning or evening.
    Secondarily, I would hope that this would lead to healthier eating habits and weight loss. That hasn’t happened yet, but I think that it is quickly coming.
  3. 52 week contact challenge. This has been a success so far. I have – every week – sent a card to someone. And I am happy with how it is going so far. I was successful this far into it last time. And it is already starting to feel a little bit hard (for lack of a better word). So, I’m hoping that I will be able to continue working on this well.
    Secondarily, I wanted to begin creating my own cards. I haven’t done this yet, but I have wanted and I am excited and hoping to start doing it soon.

So, my three resolutions have been successful. I am on track with them and hopefully will continue to do well with them. And I am excited to continue working on these – and begin working on my secondary goals that go along with them.

The other part of my resolution was my focus word. And my focus word was simplify.

I don’t feel as if I’m doing as well with this. Some of the things that I wanted to make happen with this have been hard and I’m struggling with it. The point of this word was to simplify my life – and hopefully get rid of some anxiety that I’ve been feeling. And while this hasn’t been super successful, I am going to work harder (which seems counterintuitive and incorrect…so maybe continue working towards) this goal. And, hopefully, by the end of the year, I will have a simpler and more fulfilling version of my life.

How are your resolutions going? Are you glad you’ve made the resolutions that you did? Do you need to revisit any of them? Are you glad you didn’t make certain resolutions (like me and blogging regularly)?

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions Check In

Leave a Reply

