Happy New Year!

It’s that time of year when the new year is here and we begin to focus on new year’s resolutions.

As I previously stated, my new year’s resolutions last year did not go that well. They didn’t go well at all. In fact, they were mostly a disaster.

With that in mind, I created three new year’s resolutions for myself this year that will hopefully help me enhance my life in a less threatening way, while also improving myself (as that is always the goal, right?).

My new year’s resolutions are:

  1. Read 52 books this year.
  2. Do yoga every day.
  3. 52 week contact challenge (it’s back, guys!)

And, in thinking about this and my year last year, I also chose to figure out a single word to focus on for this year – and each of my new year’s resolutions will help me reach other goals I have as well.

So, what one word am I focusing on this year?

Simplify.

I have an extreme tendency to overthink everything. If you know me, you know this is true. And while I am not trying to demoralize anything or boil things down to not mattering, I believe that focusing on simplifying things will help me tremendously with both my mental and physical wellness.

Instead of belaboring over a decision, I will boil it down and make a choice. And I will simplify that choice as best I can.

Instead of giving myself tons of options of things to do, I will give myself fewer options – I will simplify it.

I will dive into each of these resolutions as I work on moving forward this year.

But: so far, so good.

(Yes, I realize it’s only the 4th day of the year).

Tell me. What are your resolutions? Do you have a single word that you are focusing on? What is your plan for the year?

One thought on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

