Goodbye, 2016

2016 has not been a great year for me.

Looking back, I was as much as failure as the year was to me. And I guess that really says something about getting out what you put in.

This post has my resolutions for the year.

The list was as follows:

  1. Eat Clean 80% of the time
  2. Record all books read on Goodreads
  3. Monthly weekend jobs (writing, photography – shoot and edit, reading, hiking/biking)
  4. 365 Photo Challenge
  5. 52 week contact challenge
  6. Exercise at least 6 days a week
  7. Edit and self-publish NaNoWriMo 2015 novel
  8. Write, edit, and self-publish a new story (that I already have begun thinking about heavily)
  9. Start and keep new blog (Expertly Elise)
  10. Edit, finish, and complete 30 before 30 list

I originally got rid of 3 before January was even up. The 365 photo challenge, the 52 week contact challenge, and editing and self-publishing my 2015 NaNovel. So none of those were completed.

Of the rest, I did not successfully complete a single one.

And they were lofty goals, but they were goals that I should have been able to finish – goals that were achievable if I had just focused.

But, like I said, 2016 was a hard year for me. And while it might be (in these last couple of days) looking up a little bit, it’s not significant. It’s like I’m in a hole, but instead of staring down at the mess I’ve gotten myself into, I’ve finally started to lift my head up so I can see how far I need to go.

2016 is a year that I’m not sorry to say goodbye to. And I’m already starting to focus on things for 2017. I have my resolutions planned and will share them with you. And I hope that you will join me in sharing your resolutions (of course, if you’re on my email list, you’ve already seen them…but that’s okay).

And there is one last thing I’d like to say.

Thank you.

If you’re still reading this (this entry, this blog, my words): thank you. Putting my words out there is not something that is easy for me, but the more I do it, the more that I want to make sure I continue to do it. So I’m going to keep doing it.

And you reading them, even if you don’t comment, gives me hope that you will find some comfort in them.

So, thank you. Thank you for reading. Thank you for not giving up on me. Thank you for supporting me. It means more than you could ever possibly know.

So, goodbye 2016. I’m not sorry to see you go and hopefully I have an easier time letting you go than other things I’ve tried letting go of.

Leave a Reply

