Introducing: The Inn Crowd

It’s late and I should be sleeping right now. But things have been hard and I have not blogged as much as I would like and I want to share a few really fun things that are happening right now.

First of all, it’s November! (November 4th, actually, by the time you read this)

And with November comes National Novel Writing Month. I have participated in this for many years now. So far, no novel has come that I have felt worthy enough of publishing, but I am excited about the prospect of the novel I am working on this November.

It is called: The Inn Crowd.

It’s about a girl named Charlotte who inherits an inn from her maternal grandmother.  Did I mention that Charlotte was adopted? And she never met this grandmother? Nor does she have any knowledge of her mother. At all.

I think that it’s going to be a really fun story and I’m really excited about it. It’s definitely going to be a messy first draft and I’m hoping that my story will come through as I didn’t have time to plan like I wanted to.

BUT, despite everything that I have going on, I am making time to write. And I only got about 900 words on my first day, but I am officially ahead (by a little bit) and I am excited about this story.

If you’re participating in NaNoWriMo, let me know! I’d love to hear from you or be writing buddies with you.

***

A few other things.

My long term substitute assignment is rolling along. This week, particularly, I am struggling because I haven’t been getting enough sleep and have not felt motivated to do anything. Plus, I’ve wanted to write. So, it’s going. But that’s all it is. And I’ve made my peace with that. I will do the best I can and nothing more can be expected of me.

I’ve been rewatching Gilmore Girls (and one of my rewards for staying on track and reaching my word count goals is to watch the new episodes). I’m on season 6 and I have always considered myself fully on Team Logan as far as Rory’s boyfriends go. BUT, I just watched the episode where Jess came back and I may be wavering. We’ll see what happens from here.

I am starting to do yoga again. I have missed it. And doing it the other day just reminded me why I do it. Yoga centers me. And it makes me want to be a better person in the rest of my life. To focus on what makes me feel good and to chase those things and just let the other things roll off, as necessary. I will continue to do yoga and hopefully start a regular practice again in preparation for whatever Adriene has in store for January.

I am contemplating a new/updated 30 before 30 list. Things that I need/want to get done in December and January (when I maybe have a little more time). I love the idea of a 30 before 30, but I can’t make it happen if I don’t make the list and start checking things off.

I am practicing gratitude this month especially. Every day (except, apparently I didn’t do it on Tuesday, November 1), I am posting on Twitter what I’m grateful for. My newsletter this month is going to be all about gratitude. And I created a gratitude journal sheet to jot down what I’m grateful for each day.

Okay, I need to get some sleep. Because in my reality, right now it’s Thursday night at 10:51 PM and I want to wake up and do some yoga before leaving for work at 6:30 AM tomorrow morning. I haven’t gotten any sleep this week anyways, it’ll be fine…right?

Tell me, wonderful people, what is going on with you?

Leave a Reply

