Tricky Business

This life thing is pretty tricky business, isn’t it? We all have goals. We all have things we want to achieve. We all want to be a success. And, the truth is, success looks differently for everyone. For some people, it means they have a job that pays the bills (even if it isn’t something they love) and they have good relationships with people that they love. For some people, it means they have a job they are passionate about and can’t wait to go to every day – that they have good relationships are an added bonus. For others, it means they are surviving.

For me, right now, it just means I’m surviving.

It’s been a long week. There has been personal stuff that has been happening and making things harder than they should be. This is my fault. Overthinking is a favorite pastime of mine and it isn’t going anywhere any time soon.

Additionally, I accepted a job as a long term substitute. While I am happy about the opportunity to be working every day, in a classroom that will temporarily be mine, and broadening my horizons, it hasn’t been great. In fact, it hasn’t even been good. I have jumped into a classroom that had rules and objectives and routines in place and that I am unaware of. I have been placed in the middle of a book where I don’t know what has been talked about or how notes have been given.

It’s stressful enough to be a new teacher (either in age or location), despite how many years of you’ve worked teaching in a different place. But, even more stressful, is trying to maintain continuity for the kids when you are not aware of how things work and you don’t have access to things you need, like the gradebook and class information.

So, I apologize that I didn’t write last week. I think (I hope!) that this week will be better. We’ll see how it all goes, but I will write more this week.

How is your week going? Are you feeling successful?

Leave a Reply

