Location Independence

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 9

Today, this second to last day of the blog challenge I have been partaking in, is all about location independence.  First, since all of you aren’t taking this blog challenge, let me explain.  Location independence does not necessarily mean that you are living out of a suitcase and not staying in one place very long.  It might mean that, but it doesn’t have to.  Instead, it might mean that you can work when you want – you want to go on vacation, go; your kids have a special holiday party, you can be there; you won tickets to a movie premiere, no problem!  Basically, you can be where you want when you want because your work is not dependent on being at a specific location.

That being said, today I am supposed to talk about what my working holiday would look like.  Natalie mentioned being in Portugal and visiting castles.  My working vacation – at least the first one – would most likely be right here in the US.  Visiting all 50 states (so it would take longer than a month).

Most likely, my day would look as follows.  I would wake up and do some yoga, maybe go for a walk.  Then, I would commit to a couple of hours of work (regardless of the day).  After that, depending on where I was/if I knew anyone/what needed to be done, I would do some sight seeing and photography.  In the afternoon, I would do some reading and writing.  Then, in the evening, I would do some more sight seeing or traveling to my next destination.

The best part about this would be that I would be working, seeing my world, and hopefully also seeing/catching up with friends.  It sounds so ideal to me.

After my working vacation were over, I think that my idea of location independence would be that I could work from anywhere.  So, most days it would probably be my home office (or a coffee shop for a change of scenery), but it would also be great to be able to go visit friends/family for a week at a time and still get some work done.  I could also go on vacation or do as I needed to as I wanted to.

Location independence would be my ideal situation and I hope that I can reach it someday soon.

What does your location independence look like?  What about your working vacation?  Let me know!

Leave a Reply

