Setting Yourself Up For Success

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 5

So, my challenge today is to create a daily success plan.  Something that will help me move ahead in my plans for success and to figure out what exactly it is that I would like to do and how I would like to make myself successful in it.

So, before I can even begin to think about carving out time in my day, I know there are a few things that I have to do and hold myself accountable for so that I am able to carve that time out.

I need to wake up on time.  Waking up on time will allow me to get in a workout – be it walking, yoga, or weights.  This is usually an early wake up call, so it also means that I need to go to bed on time.  On time to bed (for me) means no later than 10 PM.  This means that I can’t get ensconced in a game on my tablet or watching too much TV just before this time hits.

Then, ideally, I would be able to carve out at least an hour of time for myself to work on my passion project.  Part of my problem is that my passions are varied and I don’t always know what to work on.  I have so much that I want to accomplish that in order to make it all happen, I need to focus on one thing at a time.

So, for the forseeable future, my one hour time would focus on writing.  I have a lot of writing that I want to make happen.  I want to be able to write a novel and sell it.  I want to be able to continue writing blog posts.  I want to continue writing my newsletter and sharing it with the people that have signed up and are reading it.  So, to spend my hour focused on writing is important.

I would start out by planning two pomodoro sessions.  These 25 minute sessions would help to keep me focused and complete more of my tasks during this hour length of time I have available.  I would spend the first 5 minutes figuring out what the two sessions would be – they may be related to the same project or they may be different.  Then I would complete my first session.  Take a 5 minute break (as necessary) and then I would complete my second session.

If I had more time to commit for whatever reason – I didn’t have a job for the day, school gets canceled, I have taken the day off – I would plan more for my time.

For me, I think this is the best thing that I can do for myself right now.

Have you heard of the pomodoro technique?  Have you used it?  What would your success plan look like?

 

Leave a Reply

