Discovering Your WHY

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 2

Today, I am supposed to write about why I want to live the freedom lifestyle.

There are easy answers to this question.  I want to have the freedom to earn more money.  I want to have the freedom to work when I want.  I want to have the freedom to work where I want.  I want to have the freedom to make my own choices about what I will do, when I will do it, and how much I will charge for it.

Those are the easy answers.

And, in part, they are my answers as well.

I do want to earn more money.  Earning money as a substitute teacher means that it is nearly impossible to live on my own and have any type of a life.  It means that I have no control over when I work or how often I get to work.  I am the total mercy of other people – and, oftentimes, a computer system.

I want to work when I want to.  I alluded to this before.  I want to be able to work when I want to.  As a teacher, you don’t have this luxury.  Your vacation time is the same as the kids.  Yes, you have personal days and sick days and such, but you can’t take 2 weeks of this to go on vacation at a nonpeak time with family or friends.  Also, when you’re a substitute, you can’t just walk into school and work any given day.  You have to have a teacher that you are going in for.

I want to work where I want.  If I want to get up and move someday, I want to be able to do that without work holding me back.  I want to be able to say that I would love to go on vacation and maybe put in a couple of hours of work a day – either at night or in the morning – and still have a great time.

The crux behind all of this comes from a conversation that I have had with a couple of friends of mine.  The conversation usually goes something like this:

Me – I wish I were independently wealthy.
Friend – Me too.
Me – I mean, it’s not just that I would be able to do anything I wanted whenever I wanted and not have to worry about work.  I could also help people.  I could donate money to people and I could really help out like I can’t now.
Friend – It would be nice.

And that is the conversation that leads to my why.  I want to be able to help people.  In some way and at some point, I want to be able to help other people.  I want to be able to buy my mom a nice gift without wondering if it’ll mean that I won’t be able to do something for myself.  I want to be able to help my dad go on a nice bike trip without wondering if it means that I won’t get to go on a trip that I really want to go on.  I want to be able to take my siblings out to dinner and pay without wondering if it means that I won’t eat anything but Ramen for the next week.

Even more than that, I want to be able to help kids that really need.  Kids that don’t know where their next meal will come from or where they’ll sleep.

I want to help make the world a better place.  And that is my why.

I don’t yet know how that will happen, but I will figure it out and I will help make this why happen.  I will help make the world a better place.

What is your why?  Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Discovering Your WHY

  1. Hi Elise! Teaching is a noble profession, I take my hat off to you! But I totally get where you’re coming from, wanting your time to be your own. Since I was a teen I’ve disliked the idea of someone else (i.e. the boss) telling me what I do with my time!

    I’m doing the 10 Day Challenge too. Looking forward to reading more of your posts!

    Like

    • Hi Ellouise. So good to hear from you. Teaching is something I have always felt connected to and that I hope I can incorporate in whatever new profession I end up choosing. But, more and more lately, I’ve been feeling the pull elsewhere for a variety of reasons.
      Thanks again for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

