Finding Your Focus

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 1

Although this post is entitled Finding Your Focus, I have actually been instructed to list 2-3 challenges that I am facing in my life right now.  This will hopefully help me (as I continue with this blogging challenge) find a focus that will help me to expand this blog and my monetary freedom.

So my 3 challenges are as follows.

  1. Money.  I know that this was not a valid excuse and I don’t want to use it as an excuse.  The simple truth is that money holds me back because I am scared of investing my money and not having it pay off for any of a number of reasons.  These could include (but are certainly not limited to): not managing my time properly or investing in what I should be with my money, not advertising my product correctly, not making money off of my product, etc.
  2. Fear of Failure.  I have a massive fear of failure.  I think that I have always had this, but as an adult, it has most certainly gotten worse.  For a variety of reasons, my fear of failure has become increasingly larger, especially when it comes to money and being able to provide for myself or others around me.
  3. Procrastination.  I have so many things that I want to accomplish, but I have a hard time focusing on them because there are so many things.  And, so, I procrastinate with (sometimes meaningless) things.  With Netflix (although I am thoroughly enjoying watching Gilmore Girls), with games on my tablet, with TV that is not enriching to me at all.  I guess this goes hand in hand with time management skills and just being able to get it done.

For each of these challenges, I feel like the easiest thing to do is to try and manifest them into something positive.  Once I’ve invest my  money in something, I should be sure to follow through with said venture: an e-course, a book writing symposium, etc.

My fear of failure should be put to use by making me work even harder.  If I’m afraid of failing, it will do nothing for me unless I turn it around.  Most everything is less skill than people would think and more hard work.  I need to turn my fear of failure on its head and use it to work harder.

And, my procrastination is probably an effort of the two previously.  In order to ebb procrastination and cut it out, I need to make a list of things that need to happen and just do them.  And then, once that list is complete, I need to continue with another list, a different list.  So on and so forth until I find myself completing enough things that I don’t have to worry any more.

Check out the link at the top of this post and join the blog challenge I am in.

What are some of your challenges in your life?

Leave a Reply

