Change is Hard

Change is hard.  As a worrier and an over-thinker and an over-carer, change is really hard.  Especially unwelcome change.  Because, let’s be honest, some changes are welcome and things that we want – like leaving for college or planning to have a baby (and then having the baby) or taking a new job that you are really excited about.  It’s still hard, because it’s still change, but it’s a little easier because it is something that you want.

When change is unwelcome – a sudden death (or maybe not so sudden, but still not what you want), being fired, being forced out of somewhere or someone, a break – it becomes so much harder than an exciting change.

There are a lot of changes coming to my life.  A lot of changes – like a ton.

I will be leaving my only real home – for how long, I’m not sure yet – this summer.  I will be moving to outside of Rochester and taking a summer job.  From there, I’m not 100% sure what is going to happen.

I’m leaving the only job that I ever thought would really be a viable career for me.  Throughout this summer, and beyond, I will be exploring other options while hopefully maintaining a job that will support me and the bills that I have.  I’m very excited and interested in looking into other teaching options – turning a passion into an online course possibly, writing, photography.  I feel as if I have not been very creative lately and I know that it is at least partially because of my anxiety over change and what is coming next.

This summer is going to be a whirlwind and I haven’t yet decided how I want to handle blogging as I move into this phase of my life, but I will keep you all posted.

Because, let’s be really honest for a minute:

Change is hard.  Really hard.  But change is also inevitable.  And, sometimes (hopefully this time), change can be the catalyst needed to transport people to something better than they could ever imagine.

And that’s the truth.

Leave a Reply

