A New Goal: 10,000%

So, I have had my Fitbit Blaze for a couple of weeks now.  I really like it.  I love that it counts my steps and I don’t have to worry about having my phone with me to count them.  It’s so nice to be free from that.  And it really has motivated me – a lot.

So, while I haven’t necessarily been motivated to do much lately, I have been motivated to walk.  This weekend, I even walked around my yard – so that way I wasn’t driving somewhere to walk around in circles when I could just do it at home – to get my steps in.

I also decided, since weight loss is my ultimate goal, that I needed to up my step goal.  I had decreased it to 8,000 steps because I wasn’t coming close to hitting 10,000 and I had actually had it at 5,000 last time that I had a Fitbit.  But I changed it.  I put it back up to 10,000 and then I got those steps in.

Saturday and Sunday I got in 10,000+ steps (I say plus because I stopped trying as hard once I hit 10,000).  And it feels great to have an achievable goal.  And it’s really not that hard.

I have found that it’s best to break it up if I don’t want to get stuck not having enough steps in and having to walk for an extended period of time at the end of the day.  This is easier said than done sometimes.

On weekends, I can break it up however I want.  I can choose to get up and walk around my house or walk around outside.  I was a little distracted this weekend in trying to get pictures of the baby robins that are in my basketball hoop, but I managed.  I also discovered a second robin’s nest while I was walking my yard on Sunday.

On school days, I do my best to get in a walk during my free period.  Even a 15 minute walk can knock off a good number of steps so that getting to 10,000 doesn’t seem so bad.  Plus, I try my hardest to get in the 250 steps per hour from 9-6.  Sometimes this is difficult because I am home teaching and moving around isn’t as easy.  But I do the best that I can.

And, when all else fails.  I will lace up my sneakers and walk.  While walking, I can listen to music that I haven’t had much of a chance to listen to or catch up on a phone call with friends or family.  It is time that can definitely be utilized in a multi-tasking way.  And it has made me feel good.

It has made me feel good that I have set a goal and stuck with it.  It has made me feel good that I have been moving.  It has made me feel good that I am doing what I wanted to with the purchase of this.

Maybe these wearables don’t work for everyone – and once I have a schedule that is more steady and I’m only working 8 hours a day instead of 10-12, I will fit in more exercise as well – yoga and biking and rebounding (which is something I definitely want to try out more!).

I think it was a great purchase for me and I’m glad I splurged on it!

Do you wear a Fitbit?  What is your goal and how often do you reach it?  Any tips for getting in steps without killing yourself?

Leave a Reply

