Why Joy?

Yesterday, I told you about a new journey that I was going to be taking part in – a journey to find joy in my daily life and a journey that I wanted to share with all of you.  It is a journey that I’m very excited about.  And I wanted to discuss a little bit why I chose to focus on joy.

I believe that joy is the key to a happy, healthy life.  When I seek out joy, I feel better about myself.  I also treat myself better and want to treat other people better.  And, because of this, I believe that joy (finding it, seeking it out, going after it) is the key to life.

I have been thinking about this for a variety of reasons.  But there are two main reasons why I have been thinking about this so much and why I wanted to make it into a journey that I would share with others in the form of a weekly email list.

The first reason is 100% personal.  I will write more about this tomorrow, but I am not the person that I want to be, the person that I used to be, the person that I want people to remember me as.  These are through my own choices.  And I want to really challenge myself to seek joy more and to really be the person that will challenge others to do the same thing.  Because, as I said, I believe that joy is the key.  I think that, personally, this will help me become the person that I used to be, the person that I used to see myself as.

The second reason is a little bit bigger and also a little bit personal.  I have always wanted to help people.  It is one of the big reasons that I have always wanted to be a teacher.  And, I still want to help people.  As a substitute that has worked very closely with one district, I have seen students struggle.  And I believe that if I can make this work and help others make it work for them, I will be helping a lot of people.  And, my big hope is that this will help alleviate problems that I have seen in the high school on a daily basis.

A big thing that has pushed me to do this is that a lot of students have been put on home instruction for reasons that are more complex than just saying that they have anxiety.  I am not saying that seeking joy will end a person’s anxiety.  But I do believe that seeking joy can help to alleviate some of those symptoms and can be a tool for people with anxiety to feel better about themselves and to help them when they are feeling anxious.

So, if you want to join me in my journey, you can sign up for my weekly email list here.  I’m really excited about this and I can’t wait to really focus on it and make it happen.

2 thoughts on “Why Joy?

Leave a Reply

