A Simplicity Experiment: Capsule Wardrobe

So, I have decided to attempt using a capsule wardrobe.

Since I will be moving soon (whether I want to or not…I mean, don’t get me wrong, I want to, but it’s still stressful) and I am trying to simplify my life and I wear the same things over and over and over again, I decided that now would be a great time to begin and try out a capsule wardrobe.

This is something that I have thought of doing for a while and something that I’m excited about trying out for quite a while and to really hone in on my style and be able to spend more time doing things and less time doing laundry/deciding what to wear.

I will probably end up cheating this first go round (especially since it should have already started), but we’ll see.

For those of you that don’t know, a capsule wardrobe is a collection of clothing that you wear for 3 months at a time.  It is 33 pieces and it is all you are allowed to wear.  These items do not include your underwear/pajamas/lounge around clothes/workout clothes.  So that’s all really good for me.  I have also decided that I should maybe try to pare down my workout wardrobe a little bit, but we’ll see how that goes.

So, my process is going to go like this.  I have made my list.  I have room for a few more things on my list and as May comes and goes, I will be looking to possibly swap out some items and add in different items.  I am going to allow myself the chance to swap out a pair of pants as necessary for something shorter (a skirt, short, or most likely a pair of capris).  And, although I’m not supposed to wear my workout clothes out of the house, I’m sure that I will occasionally do this.

So, here is my list.  I was going to post pictures, but it just didn’t happen.

  1. Brown fringe booties
  2. Navy blue booties
  3. Cream lace flats
  4. Black flats
  5. New Balance sneakers*
  6. Nude heels
  7. Flip flops
  8. Black dress pants
  9. Blue skinny jeans
  10. Blue bootcut jeans
  11. Gray leggings
  12. Pixie Pant**
  13. TBD
  14. Short sleeve Old Navy dress
  15. Sleeveless Old Navy dress
  16. Navy/mint dress
  17. Black/White dress
  18. Green t-shirt
  19. Teal t-shirt
  20. Cream t-shirt
  21. Black t-shirt
  22. Yellow t-shirt
  23. Pink/White tank
  24. Maroon cardigan
  25. Gray cardigan
  26. Black/White cardigan
  27. Black blazer w/ white cuffs
  28. Under Armour sweatshirt (Pink)
  29. Under Armour sweatshirt (Purple)
  30. Blue pashmina scarf
  31. Infinity scarf***
  32. TBD
  33. TBD

*These sneakers may be traded out for a different pair as these will become workout exclusive sneakers – I also have a pair of hiking sneakers that will stay in my wardrobe but only be used for that purpose

**I do not have a pair of Pixie pants currently, but am looking to purchase a pair

***I have not decided what infinity scarf I want to use, but will decide

I also have a few TBD items.  These are sort of so that I can fill them in as I need to.

Also, all of those t-shirts may be swapped out for other shirts and/or newer tshirts (these are just solid tees from Target that I have been wearing for a while and some probably need to be replaced).

The purpose of this is two-fold.  First, I want to explore and hone in on my personal style.  Because I think that once I have a good idea of my personal style (besides lazy bum, which is definitely what it has been lately), I can take that and run with it and then I will be able to explore new ways to put outfits together that will work for me.

The second thing is, I think that if I begin to pack, I will pack away the clothes that are out of season/that I might want to keep and then I will revisit them and already have them packed away for my move.  (This is actually a pretty big reason I want to do this).

I will try to post pictures once I have the wardrobe totally figured out – and I have some time.  Because I think that my months will break down to the following as I do this: June-August, September-November, December-February, March-May.

I’m really excited to try this experiment and make it work for me.  I think that through it I will be able to explore new color schemes and things that would maybe be good for me.  And I just think that it could (and will) be really good for simplicity’s sake.

What do you think of my capsule wardrobe?  What do I still need?  What am I forgetting?  Help me out here, people!

Leave a Reply

