Monthly Check In: May

So, last month, I didn’t do a monthly check in on my new year’s resolutions.  A big part of this – at least in my opinion – is that I don’t feel as if I’m made much progress.  And, because I didn’t make much progress , I didn’t want to write about it.

But I do feel as if I should do a monthly check in.  You can see my original post here and my last check in here.

And, now, my check in for this month, two months since my last check in.

Here are my goals:

  1. Eat Clean 80% of the time
  2. Record all books read on Goodreads
  3. Monthly weekend jobs (writing, photography – shoot and edit, reading, hiking/biking)
  4. Exercise at least 6 days a week
  5. Write, edit, and self-publish a new story (that I already have begun thinking about heavily)
  6. Start and keep new blog (Expertly Elise)
  7. Edit, finish, and complete 30 before 30 list

My eating clean hasn’t happened.  I just haven’t done it.  And that is my own fault and something that I really want to work on.  Because I have been incorporating healthier habits and I feel better when I am eating healthier.  So, this is going to be a big focus of mine in the next month.  Plus, despite the prep at the beginning, leftovers are healthier and easier when you’re eating healthier (in my opinion).

I haven’t been reading as voraciously as I always do.  But I have continued to record my reading on Goodreads on a regular basis.  You can look at my Goodreads page here. I am currently reading Me Before You and I am enjoying it, but want to read more.  A big goal of mine is to read more this next month.

I have not completed monthly jobs.  I have done a lot more writing – since I am writing here every weekday and I will occasionally get some fiction writing in.  But my other jobs are hit and miss at best and are not anything I have focused on.  I hope that I will be able to focus on these more.

My exercising has also not happened.  I have gotten a bit better – walking more and getting in bike rides as the weather has cooperated, but I need to make this more of a priority.  Because when working out means just going for a walk, I can make that happen without a problem.

I have not begun writing the story I had in mind and think that it will be shelved for a while.  I began a new project in April for Camp NaNoWriMo, but that didn’t really happen at all.  So I know that I need to decide if writing is a priority for me or not.  I have a lot of ideas and as I talked about yesterday, I want to simplify – so writing may be something that I need to pursue at a later time.

I have done a nice job in keeping up to date with this blog.  I am enjoying writing and I am getting a small, but very loyal following…at least I think so.  I am hoping that I can gain some more followers, but I think that in order to do that, I need to focus on something different, something more specific.  For now, this is great for me and I am enjoying it and want to continue to do it.

As for my 30 before 30 list.  That might need some revisions once I manage to get to it.  There are a lot of things happening that I don’t have a lot of control over and I am not focused.  Again, with simplifying, I hope that I manage to bring this back to the forefront of things.

So, overall, my goals aren’t going great.  But I am confident that as the first half of this year begins to wrap up, I can make a difference in things that will ramp up my productivity and allow me the opportunity to make more headway on my goals.

When was the last time you checked into your goals? How are you doing on them?  Advice for getting my goals complete and doing well?

Leave a Reply

