Sleepless Nights

I’ve been having trouble sleeping.

Before, I go further, I want to say a couple of things.  I have on occasion joked about the fact that I have intermittent insomnia (a self diagnosis where for a few nights at a time, randomly, I won’t be able to sleep well – I’ll be up until all hours and I just won’t sleep).  I don’t say this in jest to anyone that actually has insomnia.  It is a way for me to name what is controlling me and try to take that control away.  It may or may not be true.

That being said.  I’m going through a patch.

But this time, it’s different.

I am writing this at 11:20 PM – on a school night.  This is unusual because most school nights, I am asleep by 10 PM at the latest (Monday nights are usually an exception as I have a TV/catch up night with a friend that goes until 10).  But still being awake and functioning and not seeing the end of the night any time soon at 11:20 is not normal for me.  It’s not something I enjoy.

Because what will happen from here is this.  I will be tired all week.  I may or may not continue to think that I need to stay awake and be unable to fall asleep at night.  But I will be tired all week long.  I will be tired while I’m at school subbing and while I am home teaching.  I will be tired when I get home and try to get things done.  I will be tired while I am doing anything and everything.

Then, the weekend will come.  The weekend will come and the time that I have to do things for me – pack (as I will be moving soon – even if I don’t know where or what it will entail), look into work options, use my time for creativity – will be filled with naps.  I will be so tired and have no set schedule of something I need to get done and so I will nap.

And the cycle will continue to repeat itself.

And I hate it.

I don’t know why I’m not sleeping.

I don’t know why I’m having the issues that I am.

I don’t know what I should be doing with my time that I’m awake – but I usually don’t end up doing anything productive.  And, ultimately, I am not getting the sleep that my body needs and that is detrimental to me and my health.

For instance, right now, I could be folding laundry or working on my story (that I have not written anything for at all this April) or researching jobs and coming up with ideas that will help me begin a freelance career that will allow me to travel like I want to.

Either way, I need to figure this out.  And if it means scheduling my life down to the minute for a while, I will.  That way, I can just fill in the gaps (because I will leave some gaps so that I am able to do what I want in those gaps).

I need to sleep.  I need to figure it out.  I need to be better about taking care of myself.

Do you ever have trouble sleeping?  Do you have any suggestions for me?  What do you do when you can’t sleep?

Leave a Reply

