Discovering Time

I blogged yesterday about where I wanted to be in a year.  And I know that if I want to make that a reality, I need to get serious about things.

So, I made a purchase to invest in my writing.  I purchased Busy Writer Bootcamp from Jenny Bravo.  I am excited about the possibility of this kickstarting my writing and getting me off of my lazy butt and actually writing.

Since a component of this course is to share with the Facebook group – and I don’t have Facebook anymore – I thought that I would share with all of you.

One of the first things that Jenny had us do – as anyone would – was to look at our time and what we had time for and what we had flexibility with and really dive into what we could actually commit to.

So, here’s what I discovered.  I don’t have a lot of flexibility in my time.  I have to go to work because I have to make the piddly money that I do at my job.  Because I have to pay my bills.  I can’t get around that – most people can’t.

But guess what?

I have time during my day.  Here are some things that I do every day: I wake up, I do yoga (at least I’m trying to do yoga every day), I get ready for school, I go to school and sub in some capacity (most days), I home teach (4 days a week), I come home exhausted, I blog (Monday-Friday), I write on 750words.com, I watch TV (usually), I try to read, I play games on my tablet, I sometimes talk to a friend, I want to try to ride my bike more.

Basically, I squeeze a lot into a little bit of time.  I can’t get rid of waking up, going to bed, working, exercising.  Those things are vital to my well being – things that I have to make happen.

But I can get rid of other things.  I can get rid of playing so many games on my tablet – I will continue to play my brain games, but leave the other – more addicting (in my opinion) – games out.  Maybe I’ll even get to the point where I can delete them from my devices.

I can use my time while subbing more appropriately.  I can start keeping notes about scenes – things that I can scribble down easily and change in a few short seconds instead of taking long moments to write a full scene or chapter or blog post; things that I can do while the kids are busy on an assignment but that won’t consume me to so much that I can’t or don’t want to help them when they need it.

The point of this exercise – I think – was to make me (and anyone else that did it) realize that while I had a full life, a busy life, a life that I squeeze a lot into – I also have pockets of time that are mine.  And I can commit to writing 20 minutes on my fiction a day (or more if time permits).

The other point – I think, especially for me – is that I don’t have to give up these other things that mean so much to me.  I don’t have to give up my journaling at 750words.  I don’t have to stop doing my yoga.

This is not an all or nothing endeavor.

This is a fitting into your life endeavor.

This is a building a habit so that success comes more easily endeavor.

20 minutes a day.  That is what I commit to.  I will write some type of fiction for 20 minutes a day.  I will lead my story forward a little bit at a time.  And I will not sacrifice my life and well being for it – although I may find (I am thinking it’s a good possibility that I will) that this will become a big part of my well being.

I am happy to say that I did write yesterday.  I wrote words for a story that hasn’t quite taken shape fully yet in my mind – a story that I am excited to see come to shape and discover it as I begin this draft and write from my heart.

I was going to post photos of the time audit, but I don’t feel that is fair.  If you are interested in this course, go check it out for yourself 🙂

What don’t you have time for?  How can you organize your time better?  What are you willing to give up to chase your dreams?

Leave a Reply

