A Year From Now

There is a quote about wishing that you had started today instead of waiting and realizing that a year has passed.

So, today, I will answer a simple question.  What will I wish that I had begun today a year from now?

A year from now, I will wish that I had started writing again.  I will wish that I had started a story that I will have written and created.  I will wish that I had a story created that I have edited and combed through and let other people read.  I will wish that I had a story that I could send out into the world that will be a labor of love and passion and a lifelong dream.

A year from now, I will wonder if I can be an author.

If I start today, that dream can become a reality.

Today is April 5th.

I told myself that I was going to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo – a byproduct of NaNoWriMo which I love and support and have been a part of for a very long time – this year will be my 5th NaNoWriMo I believe.

Writing for myself is no longer enough.  Keeping my writing private is no longer enough.

It will not be easy.  There are so many things other than this that I also want to work on.  But a year from now, if I have not made progress towards this goal, I know that I will regret it.

I have so many stories inside.  And I might fail at first.  But I know that if I begin to write and I begin to share what I have written, I will improve.

And that is something I truly want to work on this year so that I will not regret it on April 5th next year.

What will you regret if you don’t begin it today?

2 thoughts on “A Year From Now

Leave a Reply

