Searching for Reading Happiness

Part of what makes me happy – building on yesterday’s theme and on #IDOH – is knowing that I have something to work towards and things that I enjoy doing.

One of the things that I love to do is read.  Reading has always been a favorite thing of mine.  I read books I probably shouldn’t have when I was too young, had my nose in a book when my siblings were doing other things, and always had a book with me wherever I went.

I like to talk about what I am reading as well.

You would think that these things – talking about reading and always having a book on hand – would be easier than ever.  But they aren’t.  Instead, I am struggling with having a book on hand with me most days (even when I am reading a book on my phone or tablet) or knowing how or when to talk about it.

In this world where we are all uber-connected, I am having a hard time figuring out the best way to share my knowledge about books and what I love about them.

Recently, I have gone on a bit of reading spree – which I am really excited about.  I read The Ramblers by Aidan Donnelly Rowley, Schism by Britt Holewinski, The Assistants by Camille Perri and am currently entranced by Fixing Tanner by Rachel Del (I will probably finish that one today).

I have shared these over on Goodreads as per my new year’s resolution, but I don’t really think that’s getting much traction.  And I’m not necessarily sure how to make it better and get the word out.

As someone that someday wants to publish a book (I don’t know if it will happen this year, like I really want it to or not), I am curious as to how I should extend my reach about the books that I am reading.

I could write a review of each book that I read, but that would be hard to do and I’m not sure that it would be very easy.  I have thought about doing a monthly review of what I have read on YouTube, but I’m not sure that I really want to be on camera.  I also have thought about doing just a video review where I could figure it all out.

I would love to leverage Twitter or Instagram – which I really need to use more than I do and get moving on it as a tool to expand my reach – to spread the word of what I am reading and enjoying.

There are so many options, but as is the case too often these days, the options are spread too thin and it seems that instead of interacting – as social media was originally intended to do (in my opinion) – we are more alone than ever.

Any ideas on good ways to share what I have been reading – other than a direct to my Goodreads page?  What have you been reading lately?  Any recommendations? 

Leave a Reply

