Is Fear Holding You Back?

You know how when you start thinking about things you attract those things to you?
(For example, you decide that you want to cut your hair short and you start seeing pictures of tons of celebrities you admire/people you like with short hair OR you decide to buy a new car and you start seeing that new car all over the place…etc.)

Recently, I’ve been reading a lot of things about fear.

Not-so-fun-fact about me: I am afraid of far too many things.  Like way too many.  I am afraid of the usual things: like spiders and bugs and falling down the stairs (especially when it’s dark out).  Then I’m afraid of some stranger things: like being struck by lightning (no joke, this fear is not something to joke around about).  And then, there are the really big things: like failure and being alone and not being good enough.

Because I have been thinking about this a lot, I have been reading a lot of articles about fear.  I’ve read about people that have conquered their fear, about people that have let fear push them around, about techniques that you can use to help yourself.

Basically, what I have gathered from all of it is this: You can’t let fear hold you back.

And, the more I read these articles, the more I related to all of them.  I related with the people that let fear paralyze them and I envied the people that pushed fear around and acknowledged it so that it could move aside and give them the space they needed to do what they needed to do.

And the more I read, the more I realized: I need to kick fear to the curb.

Okay, I don’t really need to kick fear to the curb.  Fear is not a bad feeling.  But like many domineering feelings, I need to stop letting fear run my life.  Instead of being scared to do something, I need to acknowledge my fear and let it know that I am aware of it.  Then, I need to tell that fear that it will not control me and that I am going to do whatever it is anyway.

So, instead of laying in bed because I am sad and depressed and afraid that I will not amount to anything, I am going to acknowledge that fear and I am going to move it to the side so that I can really work on accomplishing my goals.

Because it is okay to be afraid.  It’s not okay to let fear run the show and ruin the life that you are meant to have.

Are you afraid of any of these same things?  How does your fear manifest itself?  How do you conquer your fear?  What can you do today to conquer your fear?

One thought on “Is Fear Holding You Back?

Leave a Reply

