Customer Service

As a resident assistant, a teacher, and a substitute teacher, I think that I have a slight grasp on customer service.  No, I have never had a complete customer service position or job, but I know what good customer service looks like and I know that it’s something that I have to be aware of with my positions.

As a substitute teacher, I have to troubleshoot teacher plans sometimes, interact with other teachers/administrators, and sometimes deal with parents (this is VERY rare as a substitute).

However, recently, I have had a very disappointing interaction with Barnes and Noble.

I love to read, it is something that I have always loved to do and I will continue to do forever.  I will continue to love it forever.  Reading is one of my favorite things to do and I am so excited that I am able to do it so frequently.

I got a Barnes and Noble gift card for Christmas (my brother knows me very well).  I decided to use it to pre-order a book that I am so excited to read.  It is a book by an author that I was introduced to by my mom and then I followed her on her blog.  I love her and I can’t wait to read this story.

I pre-ordered the book (along with a few others) on my birthday.  It has been a month, the pre-ordered book was released two weeks ago yesterday and my order still has not shipped.

I just spoke with a Barnes and Noble customer service representative that heard my entire story and instead of telling me that the items would be released once the pre-ordered item was available, that they would send out the available items immediately.  I feel better about things now, but I was very angry this morning when my email from them told me that it would all be shipped when available.

Customer service is a tricky thing.  I understand that it is hard, but I also know that if I’ve gotten an email saying that my order has been delayed (a week after the pre-ordered date) and will be sent out in the next 1-5 business days and it’s not, I get frustrated and upset.

All customer service agents should be on the same page.  The company should be on the same page.  And, if items that were available at the time of the order have become unavailable, they should ship them separately.  It is not the customer’s fault that items that had been available become unavailable.

 

How do you deal with customer service issues?  Do you prefer to call and talk to someone or use virtual communication (like email or Twitter)?

Leave a Reply

