Hanging Out With Friends & Other Important Things

Everyone says that sleep is important for your mental health and wellness.

And I agree.

BUT…

Sometimes, things take precedence over sleep.  And even though you’re tired and need to catch up on sleep for a while, it is worth it.

This weekend was one of those times.

I have a dear friend that I don’t see all that often – despite the fact that we live less than 10 minutes from each other.  She got engaged in January and it has been a struggle to find time to spend with her.

But this weekend, we found time.  We made time.  And it was great.

I took her – and her college roommate who was in town – to the hockey game with me and then we went out to a local bar afterwards.  The hockey game wasn’t a big deal, but I knew that I had to be up early the next day and that I wasn’t going to be very happy if I didn’t get a lot of sleep.

I went to the bar anyway.

And I’m so glad that I did.

Because we had an amazing time.  We met up with my friend’s fiancee and sister and two other friends that graduated with us from high school.  And it was so great.  We talked and hung out and relaxed.  We had a great time.

And it was good.

And important.

And worth it.

Because hanging out with friends – even late into the night (and it wasn’t too late – we left at midnight) – is one of those things that is good for mental health.

And that is something I am working on – doing what is good for my mental health.

Plus, it reminded me that I have friends here.  That if I don’t move (if I find a job here and stick around, if I want to stay close to my family, if I can’t bring myself to pull up my nonexistent roots), I have people to hang out with that will make me happy.  I just have to remember to put in the effort to see these people more than I do right now.

For this week, it just means that I need to also focus on getting some extra sleep.  And I am tired this morning (like I knew I would be).

What is something that you are willing to sacrifice for your mental health?  Have you sacrificed it lately?  If it is also essential for your mental health, how do you plan to compensate for it?

Leave a Reply

