The Beautiful One

I will never be the beautiful one.

Ever.

I don’t mean this in a bad way.  And I have come to terms with it.  Because it just is.

I might be called the cute one.  The nice one.  The sincere one.  But never the beautiful one.

A while back, I was at a hockey game.  Two guys had the following conversation.

“Did you see that girl looking at you?”

“How could I miss her? She licked her lips when she walked by us.”

“You thinking about it?”

“I can’t because of my girlfriend.”

This is not totally verbatim, but you get the gist.

I am not that girl they are talking about.  I could never walk by a couple of guys on a semi-crowded (or even empty) concourse and have this conversation take place about me.  I am not the beautiful one.

I will never be 5′ 10″ (and I’m glad for that).

I will never be model skinny.

I will never have perfect hair or makeup or clothes.

I am just not the beautiful one.

But I am working on building a beautiful life.  And redefining what beauty means to me and honoring myself in ways other than beauty.

Because, as we all know, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.  And in order to truly feel beautiful, you only need one person (hint: it’s yourself) to tell you that you are.

Are you one of the “beautiful” ones?  (No judgement, and you don’t have to answer that question)  How do you react to conversations like that?  Would you have had the same reaction as me? 

3 thoughts on “The Beautiful One

  1. If I heard that conversation I would roll my eyes. They saw an attractive female look at them and she licked her lips? Actually, I would bust out laughing. Beauty is a temporary attraction and wears off fairly quickly if there’s nothing to back it up. If you are the cute, nice and sincere one, that’s way better and every person has beauty. Maybe not model beauty but who really wants to look like an alien anyways? Any woman can look beautiful at any age, any weight, any height, whatever as long as she puts in an effort. Dress appropriately, do the makeup and hair, put on a smile and let your true inner beauty back it all up. I’ve heard plenty of guy conversations about a beautiful woman walking by and a lot of them were not that flattering, like, I guess they thought no one was listening and the stuff I heard was borderline pig, so, it can be unpleasant to be “beautiful” at times too. Objectified, no thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for this perspective!
      I think it’s hard to remember that everyone deals with struggles when we envy something about another person.
      And, I think -actually I know- I would rather not be seen (or feel that way) than have to deal with unpleasant conversation about myself.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

