A Letter From Yoga Camp

find what feels goodDear Adriene,

I am an imperfect practitioner.  I have been inconsistent, at best; and completely absent, at worst.  From my practice and my life.

But you make me want to be a better yogi.

You make me want to practice consistently.

You make me want to learn and understand more and better.

You inspire me.

30 days ago, I joined the Yoga With Adriene community to embark on a journey.  I signed up for and committed myself to 30 days of yoga.  And it was the best decision I could have possibly made.

Last year, I began the year with 30 Days of Yoga with Adriene and I loved every minute of it.  I learned to practice consistently and I learned to be happy with myself.  It was something that was important to me and that I put at the top of my list of things to get done.  I learned to laugh and not take thing so seriously, which is why I decided to participate in Yoga Camp this year.

These 30 days of yoga were different from last year.  This year, you decided to add in another layer.  A layer that made me a little nervous and I wasn’t sure that I was ready for.  You added in a much more mental layer.  You added in affirmations.

And I loved it.  Each day, I tweeted my affirmations as they applied to me and I thought about what these things meant for me in my yoga and in my life.

And instead of feeling imperfect because I couldn’t hit the perfect form and I am far from having the “perfect” yogi body, I felt free to explore and grow and meet my edge – wherever it was that day.

You do that for me, Adriene.

So, thank you.

Thank you for making yoga seem more accessible to me.  Instead of feeling like I need to be perfect, I just feel like I need to improve.  Instead of taking my practice so seriously, I know to laugh at myself and that there is a whole community of people that will catch me when I fall.  Instead of muscling into a form that isn’t natural or easy for me, I know that I need to find what feels good and the form will come when my body is ready to meet it – even if it is far down the line.

Thank you for welcoming me back with open arms, even when I’ve been away for so long.  Because every time that I return, I feel so much better about myself and I know that the practices you lead me through help me with that.

Finally, thank you for taking a risk with these affirmations.  It was hard sometimes, but everything worth working towards is at one point or another.  And I know that these are the things that will really help me grow into the best person I can be.

I will continue to find what feels good: in my yoga, through my breath, and with affirmations in my daily life.

This month away at camp has changed me and has changed so many of us in this community, I’m sure.

Continue on with your wonderful work and spreading your wonderful voice and love.

Take good care.

Namaste.

Elise

Leave a Reply

