Month 1 Check In Part 2

The new year is a month in and I have a number of resolutions that I want to work on and really make happen for myself this year.  Here is my insight on a few more of my resolutions.

One of my resolutions is: Record all books read on Goodreads.

So far, I have succeeded in this venture.  I am currently working on book number 4 and 5 for the year and I have recorded each book as I said that I would.  This is something I am very adamant about completing because I can use it to review what I have read and what I liked.  I can also use it to gear people towards books that they want.

I see this as being a bigger challenge as time passes and the year continues.  So, I will need to be sure to set up a way to be sure that I track all of my books, possibly integrating this blog and an Instagram as well.

Another of my resolutions is: Write, edit, and self-publish a story.

I have made no progress on this at all.  I have the idea for the story and I did write a little memo to myself about something I wanted to add.  But I think that if I am going to be happy enough with the story that I want to self-publish it (and be able to do all of it in a year), I need to begin making notes and planning out characters.

The story that I have that I want to share is an intense story that is going to be hard to write and hopefully make things work.  And while I am excited about this story and its potential, I am a little scared to begin working on it and making it happen.

Another resolutions is: Monthly weekend jobs (writing, photography, hiking, and reading).

This month, I was 75% successful – and still have a chance to be successful.  I read a book that I wanted to finish one weekend (and had an extra as well).  I went hiking with my dad at a local park (just a bonus that I got to go with my dad and have some quality time with him).  I have taken some photos – although it wasn’t on a weekend – but I haven’t edited them yet.  And I have begun writing and focusing on this blog, but not any fiction writing.  But starting this blog was a priority and still required doing some writing.

I will be posting about my 30 before 30 list and Start and keep a new blog next week.  Each of these will have separate posts dedicated to their process and what needed to happen to make them a reality and where I will be going with each.  

Also, in looking ahead, I will be posting about my time at Yoga Camp (from the comfort of my own home and done on my own time).

Do any of these goals resonate with you?  Do you have any suggestions about how I can make these resolutions a reality for myself?  What are some of your resolutions?

Leave a Reply

