Month 1 Check In Part 1

I promised that I would look into my goals over the next few days.  And I plan on doing just that right now.

One of my resolutions is as follows: Eat clean 80% of the time.

I have not done well on this at all.  I have not been eating clean even 20% of the time probably.  Back in September/October, I completed the 21 day fix and it was amazing.  It is why I want to focus on eating clean because I know that was a huge part of making things better for me.  So I vow to make this easier.  To prep fruits and veggies instead of buying cookies and chocolate.  To allow myself treats every once and a while and not be too hard on myself as long as I am eating clean 80% of the time.

So 80% of the time equates to 5.5 days out of a week or 4 of my 5 meals/snacks.

I think that if I can focus on this, some of my other goals will come easier as well.

Another of my resolutions is: Exercise at least 6 days a week.

I have been very successful in this so far this year.  My exercise has been in the form of Yoga with Adriene’s Yoga Camp.  And I have loved all 28 days of it.  I will be writing about it early next week so that you can hear about my journey and what it has meant to me.

However, as much as I have loved my yoga – and want to continue to cultivate my yoga practice – I really need to amp up my cardio.  It has been hard to do 30-40 minutes of yoga and get in cardio so far this year because I have been working very long days.  But that is finally finished and I plan to begin logging quite a few minutes on the trainer and with my seat in a bike – as well as getting in some walks.  (And yes, I know the time is just an excuse, but you also know how much I want to accomplish this year and I can’t focus solely on my exercise).

In order to make this happen, I need to schedule my time and not allow myself to become distracted by extraneous things.  Things like social media, games, and television need to be monitored so that I am not wasting time that should be used for fitness.

If I do all of these things, I really believe that I will lose the weight that I have put on without too much of a problem, which is the ultimate goal of this: that and improved health.

Do you have any advice for me?  Questions about how I will make this work or what I plan to do to make it happen?  Do you have similar goals at all?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Month 1 Check In Part 1

  1. Hello! I keep the 20/80 rule in mind. That little rule makes a lot of sense to me. I don’t follow any type of rules or specific diet, I only try to make small changes as I go to incorporate healthier foods into my life. I exercise 5-6 days a week, too. I sure do miss yoga!

    Like

    • Thanks for the feedback. I think that rule is going to work best for me in the long run without damaging things and taking a while to get back to it like has been the case recently.
      I have found when I do not do yoga for a while and go back to it, that I always miss it. So I’m going to try my best to make it a consistent part of my workout schedule as it seems to be so good for me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

