Looking Forward To 2016

Yesterday, I posted some musings on my 29th birthday.  To be clear, I am not where I thought I would be at 29.  I do not feel like an adult.  I am a far cry from successful or fulfilled at this point.

This post is serving as a way to help me look forward to the coming year (in a good way), but also to look forward into the future to see what the new year will bring.

This year, I am making strides to change that.  I made myself 10 New Year’s Resolutions.  They are as follows:

  1. Eat Clean 80% of the time
  2. Record all books read on Goodreads
  3. Monthly weekend jobs (writing, photography – shoot and edit, reading, hiking/biking)
  4. 365 Photo Challenge
  5. 52 week contact challenge
  6. Exercise at least 6 days a week
  7. Edit and self-publish NaNoWriMo 2015 novel
  8. Write, edit, and self-publish a new story (that I already have begun thinking about heavily)
  9. Start and keep new blog (Expertly Elise)
  10. Edit, finish, and complete 30 before 30 list

Already, I know that I need to revisit this list.

I am going to be getting rid of the 365 Photo Challenge (I have done this before and while I enjoyed doing it and I started out semi-strong, I would rather focus on other things).

I will also be getting rid of the 52 week contact challenge.  This is something I very much want to complete, but cannot devote time to this year.

I also think that I am going to be getting rid of editing and self-publishing my NaNoWriMo 2015 novel.  This story was something I was happy to write, but it does not have my heart right now.  And the story that I want to write now is something that I really want to focus on this year.

That leaves me with 7 resolutions to work on and really make happen.  I have not been 100% successful thus far, but I am getting started on it in a way that is better, a way that will be more helpful to me.

Over the next week, I will be visiting each of these resolutions in more detail including how I will track my progress and how I plan to know if I am successful or not.

2 thoughts on “Looking Forward To 2016

Leave a Reply

