Music Spotlight: Kelsea Ballerini

My music tastes are mainly country.  It’s just what I’ve listened to primarily for the past decade and a half of my life (which is most of my life – and definitely most of my life since I’ve had more control over what I’ve been able to listen to).  I am a fan of music in general, I just tend to gravitate towards country.  This surprises some people.  A lot.  And that’s okay.

This being my first “official” music spotlight, I could talk about so many people.  There is my love for Little Bit Town (although I did talk about them recently here).  There is Canaan Smith who I have traveled at least 3 hours (at the minimum) to see the three times I’ve seen him.  There are the artists that are well known.  And the artists that aren’t so well known.

But today, I have decided to talk about an artist that I really just recently discovered: Kelsea Ballerini.

If you haven’t heard of Kelsea Ballerini, you can go to her website or visit her YouTube page to check her out, I guarantee that you will not be disappointed.

Last November, she released an EP which I just heard and fell in love with.  She will be releasing her first LP on May 19th.  It will include songs from her EP as well as additional songs.  I have heard that she had a hand in writing all of the songs on the album.  And that is really what makes me love country music the most.  Country music is about telling stories, and the songs that she has released so far, really do tell a story.

The one song that I really loved off of her EP (you can listen to all of the songs on YouTube or purchase the EP on iTunes, Google Play or any other music purchasing service) was “The First Time”.  And I’m very excited that it will be the title of her LP when it is released.

“The First Time” is a song that I identify with so much right now.  It’s a song that punched me in the gut when I heard it and that I could listen to over and over again (so it clearly punched me in the gut in a good way).  You should be sure to listen to it.  And if you can’t identify with it in any way, you are very lucky – although identifying with it doesn’t make you unlucky in any way.

The other big news that was just released about Kelsea is that she will be co-headlining CMT’s Next Women of Country Tour with Jana Kramer (another absolute favorite of mine that I would highly recommend to everyone!).  If the tour were stopping anywhere near me, I would be sure to get a ticket as it is sure to be a show that will not disappoint, but it’s not.  So, if you’re in its path, you should be sure to get a ticket and jam out with these lovely ladies!

Enough rambling.  Go check out the music and offer up any suggestions you might have that I should give a shot!

Leave a Reply

