A Brief Break

I took an unintended break from blogging.  The past week was my spring break and I had some plans – I visited a friend for her bachelorette party and bridal shower and I visited my sister.  So, I took a break from blogging for the week.  The Friday before that, I just didn’t have time because of my crazy schedule.

Yes, I had a good break.  But I want to share a story that reminds me of how lucky I am and how much I have to be thankful for.

I was leaving Pittsburgh (where my sister lives), and my tire popped.  I’m talking a completely ruined, totally undrivable, definitely not any good anymore popping.

Yes, it completely sucked.

I do not know anything about cars.  I don’t particularly like cars.  I want a car that is going to get me where I need to go and is reliable and won’t break down.  I wish that I had a ton of money so that I could buy a brand new car and could get it maintained as requested and I didn’t have to worry about it.

That’s not the case.

So, my tire popped.  And it sucked.  But there was some major silver lining in this situation.

First, I was not on the highway when this happened.  If my tire had popped while I was doing 70 on the highway, it could have been a much bigger disaster.  I could have hurt myself or someone else because my tire had blown out.

Second, where it happened, I was right by a tire shop.  I am directionally challenged and I had no idea where I was.  When I blew my tire, I was next to a gas station, so I pulled into the gas station and was going in to ask for help – since I didn’t know where I was.  When I asked the girl at the gas station for help, she wasn’t super helpful, but the guy that worked at the tire shop was.  He told me that he worked at a tire shop just two shops over.  Super lucky.

Third, the tire shop was right across the street from their alignment/maintenance shop.  You see, my tire hadn’t popped because I had run over a piece of metal in the road like I thought (well, it had).  The catch was, the piece of metal had come from my car.  My coil spring had broken.  Yikes!

But, given the really crappy situation, I really had it as good as it could have gotten.  The guys that worked at both the tire shop and the alignment shop were the nicest I could have asked for and really helped me out.  They squeezed me into their schedule and helped me stay calm where I would otherwise have freaked out.  That gray cloud had so much silver lining that it almost looked pretty.  Almost.

That being said, if you are ever around or near Natrona Heights, PA or you know someone that lives near there – I would highly recommend Highland Integrity Alignment and Highland Tire for your car needs.

Have you ever broken down in an unfamiliar place?  Have you ever felt extremely lucky in a bad situation?  Do you have any stories of kindness that you would like to share?

Leave a Reply

