When You’re Not Enough

If you’re anything like me, you like to please people.  Before this turns into a discussion about whether this is true or not, let’s just assume that it is.  And I don’t mean that I do whatever people want, per se.  I just mean that when I make my decisions, I always consider how it will affect other people, usually more than me and probably more than I should.

I have made some decisions based on what other people would want more than what I would want.

I believe that the reason that I did this is because I felt like if I made a different decision (a decision that wasn’t what they wanted), I wouldn’t be enough for them.

This could be a minor decision (like going to a movie I don’t want to see) to bigger decisions (like whether I should buy a car I wanted).

Sometimes, I have to remind myself that I am enough.

If a boy decides that he doesn’t like me and he likes someone else, I am still enough.

If I decide that I want to stay home instead of going out to the bar, I am still enough.

If I decide that I enjoy watching The Bachelor, Nashville, Revenge, etc., I am still enough.

If I decide that I want to change careers, I am still enough.

If I decide that I will continue to pursue teaching, despite all of my setbacks, I am still enough.

If I decide that I am staying at home for many reasons, I am still enough.

If I decide to move away and live a life that no one else is intricately a part of, I am still enough.

Whatever decisions I make, whatever mistakes I make, whatever goals I decide to chase: I am enough.  As long as I am living for myself and making the decisions that are right for me (as long as they don’t harm anyone else, even if they don’t help anyone else), I am enough.

I am enough.

You are enough.

Leave a Reply

