A Quick NaNo Check In

So, I haven’t updated a ton here on the blog.  And there is a good reason for that.

NANOWRIMO IS EATING MY SOUL!!!!

I began this NaNoWriMo in a way that I never have before.  I changed my idea for my story at the very beginning – in fact it may have even been November 2nd (when I started writing) that I changed my idea.  And it hasn’t turned out so great.  The story that I am writing is not a great story.  It’s not even a good story.  It’s actually pretty bad.

But, I’m getting words out there.  And, despite the fact that I am over 10,000 words behind, I plan to finish this story.  Even if it means that I have to kill off all of my characters in the end.

…And then, maybe I will have learned a valuable lesson.  So far, I have learned two valuable lessons.

1.  Write the story you want to write.  Even if you don’t think that you will do it justice.  I am sure that I would be further ahead and enjoying my story more if I had picked one of those ideas that had sparked me in October

2.  There is treasure – even in the rubbish.  Sometime when I was going through some word sprints to up my word count a little bit, I wrote what is possibly my most favorite line ever written.  And, if nothing else, I can be proud of that line.  And use it elsewhere if I want to.  We will see.

So, I need to go and do some more writing.  My goal is to get to 2,500 words written today, which I should actually surpass.  And that is more than I currently need per day to write.  So, there is still hope.

Leave a Reply

