All Aboard the Crazy Train

I know I mentioned it before, but I really thought that things would slow down once the end of school came here.  And it still might.  But right now, it doesn’t seem like it will.  And up until Monday, it’s not going to.

I know that no one really cares, but here is a rundown of what the rest of my week looks like.

Tomorrow, I am getting to school early so that I can fill out some paperwork and send some important emails.  Then, we will be grading all day long.  I mean, quite literally probably, all day long.  The goal is to get the majority of the critical lens essays graded for one of the tests.  If we don’t finish these, we will finish them on Thursday.

Thursday, we are grading/finishing up the test we’re working on tomorrow in the morning.  Then, we have to proctor another test in the afternoon.  Thursday is also a gym day for me.  (as a side note, the gym kicked my butt today – in a really good way, but it kicked my butt hard).  I also have choir practice on Thursday evening – if I decide to go.

Friday is another day of grading – and lots of it.  Then, the afternoon will be filled with wonder and amazement and probably a lot of nostalgia.  Because Friday is prom.  And as co-advisor, I have to do everything with the senior class.  So, I will be at Promenade at 4:30 (I think that’s when it starts), then I am getting some dinner with a group of teachers going and also getting some froyo!  Prom begins at 8 and goes until midnight.  At which point, I am hoping to get some sleep.

Because Saturday is Taste of Country festival.  I am so excited because it’s going to be a great day (and it should be great weather too!)  Anyways, I will be traveling to Hunter Mountain for this festival – leaving fairly early in the morning.  And then I will rock out all day long – all day long!!  I am so excited about this and it’s going to be so great!  Minus the whole tired factor.  Because I will be seeing all of the artists and I won’t be leaving until midnight (at the earliest probably).

Then, on Sunday, I have to be to the high school at 5:15 (I think, it might be 5:00) in the morning so that I can get ready to accompany the senior class on their trip to Hershey Park.  That is going to suck a little bit.  Because I’m not a huge amusement park person – I don’t do roller coaster.  And I’m going to be very, very tired.  Like, really tired.

But after that, things actually should start calming down.  I am working until Wednesday of next week (maybe Thursday) and then I have to help get things ready for graduation and finish with the last of the senior stuff before I’m done with my commitments to the school for the year.

There is still a lot to get done, but I am in the final stretch – no matter how crazy it is and how crazy it is going to get.

If I miss a day here or there, I apologize in advance.  It’s going to be a whirlwind over the next week and a half.  And then I might hibernate for a few days.  We’ll see.

What do you do when your life is getting really crazy?  How do you carve out time for yourself?  Any advice for a teacher at the end of her first year?

Leave a Reply

