I’m Getting Old

I know that at 26, I don’t really have a right to say that, but it feels so true today and lately.

Because this weekend was really fantastic and I really loved it.  There were moments that were really horrible and really awful, but they were just really small moments.  And the bigger picture was really fantastic and something that I wouldn’t give up for anything.

The downside is that I am super tired.  I almost couldn’t get out of bed this morning because I was so tired.  I have taken a nap because I couldn’t keep my eyes open when I got home.  It was nice to take a nap, but we’ll see if I’ll be able to sleep now.  I feel like I’ll be able to because I’m still very tired and I know that I have so much sleep to catch up on.

So, here’s how it all went down.  I left for Rochester early Saturday morning.  Once I got there, we went to Niagara.  It was absolutely fantastic – although a little bit warm.  It was so great to get to go back to the place that had shaped me so much.  And to go back with a friend that I didn’t know super well while I was at Niagara but have become super close with has been so great.  The wedding was fantastic and it was so nice to see such a fantastic couple together.

I can definitely say that being at the wedding and then the reception and seeing the wonderfulness that was this weekend, it made me so happy for them and a little anxious for myself.  I don’t necessarily feel any pressure to be having kids right now, but I am feeling a little bit of pressure to find someone that I could possibly spend the rest of my life with.  I am really anxious to have some fun and get to know some people and maybe – just maybe – find the guy that I will someday be married to.

We’ll see what happens and how long it might take.  I’m not expecting miracles, but I am trying to put myself out there.

I didn’t leave Rochester until 2 Sunday morning (that’s right, I left Rochester at 2).  I didn’t get home until just before 5 because I had to stop and take a little bit of a nap because I couldn’t keep my eyes open.  Then, I slept for a few hours and got up to shower so that I could head to SPAC for the Brad Paisley concert.

The concert was good, but the sound was off.  I don’t know if it was because of where I was or if it was something else, but the sound was definitely off and I definitely think it could have been better.  But I’m glad that I went.

I was able to sleep a little bit on the way home.  It wasn’t a sound sleep – it was more of an on and off sleep.  But I was able to and that was good.  Then, I came home and slept some more – not nearly as much as I wanted to.

And today, I realized that I can still do this, but it’s not going to last for much longer.

This weekend will be slightly relaxing, but then next weekend will be another really big no-sleep weekend.  More to come on that later.

The lesson from this weekend: take each moment and make it yours because the good moments will be remembered and the bad moments don’t last long.  And it’s okay to lose sleep to spend time with friends and to have a great time!

When was the last time that you went without a lot of sleep?  How long did it take you to recover?

Leave a Reply

