Two Lanes of Freedom Tour: A Review

Yesterday, I went to Darien Lake for the Two Lanes of Freedom Tour with Love and Theft, Brantley Gilbert and Tim McGraw.

If you read nothing else, note this.  This might possibly be the tour of the summer.  And if you have a chance you should definitely go to the show.

I realize that I might be a little bit biased because I love all of the artists, but it was without a doubt one of the best concerts I’ve been to.  And this was even with a stage that was probably 8 feet high so I was staring up the entire time and had a crick in my neck for sure.

When my friend and I got to the show, we sat outside and waited.  We talked with a few people, we took pictures of the truck, and we anticipated (and I worried because my car had started to act weird when we got there).  And I have to tell you, the wait was well worth it.

I was one of the only people that I talked to at the beginning of the night that was excited about all three acts.  There were a ton of people that were just there for Tim and there were some people that were there to see BG and Tim.  I didn’t talk to anyone else that was there for all 3 artists.  And I was so excited.

Love and Theft was the initial opener.  My only complaint with them is that they didn’t play for long enough.  They played all of their hits and they were fantastic, like always.  I have a HUGE crush on Stephen.  I think it’s because I can’t quite figure him out.  I can’t tell what part of his show is an act and what part of it is the real him.  And it makes me want to get to know him.  Which intrigues me.  Plus, I love their music and I love the way that they sound together and they put on a great show.  They got the crowd into things when they covered “Fishing in the Dark” and I just danced and smiled and sang along the entire time.  The only downside was that they didn’t play long enough.

Next up was BG (as us Brantley Gilbert fans call him).  I can’t say enough about his live show.  He puts on the most kick-ass show that I’ve ever been to.  He’s high energy.  He has hits that Jason Aldean made huge (and, therefore, a ton of people know them).  And it just seems like he would be the kind of guy that I would be friends with.  My favorite part was when he singled me out (like he did when I saw him in Binghamton) and let me sing to him/into his mic (which didn’t work out so well because of the 8 foot stage) during “Kick It In The Sticks”.  My second favorite part was probably when he talked about the two things that he would always go to jail for.  The first being if a guy ever put his hands on a girl and the second being if someone broke into his home and his family was in there.  The only downside to his show was that he didn’t sing “One Hell of an Amen” which I had really hoped he would because I thought that it would be great for the evening.  And he threw his shirt into the audience, and I did not get it.  I legitimately just want to be friends with him (and it’s only partially so that I can become best friends with Jana Kramer, his fiancé – just in case you didn’t know that).  If you get the chance to see him and you want to see a high energy show, go.  He will not disappoint.  Although, I would really love to see him do an acoustic show.  I can’t say enough good things about him and the more I see him perform, the more I love his music and what he does.

Finally, was Tim.  The main event that everyone was there for (and that I was also very excited for).  Tim put on an excellent show and I would not expect anything less from him (and would have been extremely disappointed if I was not thrilled about it).  Again, he was high energy and he did such a great job.  He sang a lot of his hits (I was so glad that he sang “Cowboy in Me” which is probably one of my all time favorite songs), he sang a lot of new stuff, and he sang some stuff that I’d never heard.  I am a fan of Tim McGraw’s but he was big before I was really into country music and so I don’t know ALL of his music – I just know a lot of it.  And the thing is, the guy can perform.  I mean, he just looks like he has such a good time up on stage and it makes me wish that I had that ability.  I guess that I will totally settle for being in the audience for the show though.  Especially since it was so great.  I don’t know what else to say about it.  If you expect the show to be great, you will not be disappointed.  If you expect anything less, you will be blown away and have the best time.  Oh, and I have to share a little anecdote.  Because we were so close we, naturally, made friends with some of the crew.  I was chatting with one of the camera guys who was really nice.  In between when the show “ended” and the encore began the guy was crouched down and just looked like he was in pain, so I asked if he was okay (I mean, he really looked like he was in pain).  He shook his head no and then he actually told me what was wrong.  He said “I’ve been working out with the boss after loading up and he’s been kicking my ass.”  It made me smile.  First, that he referred to Tim McGraw as “the boss” (I mean, I know that’s what he is, but it was still pretty cool).  And that he just wanted to share.

Sometimes, I wonder if the artists think I’m crazy as I sing and dance along during the show or if they just think I’m a great fan.  I’d like to think they just appreciate that I’m a fan and having a good time – because why else would BG let me sing into his mic?  And why else would the crew guys want to talk to me?  I’ll keep having fun as long as they keep putting on kick ass shows for me.  (And some day soon, I will get a meet and greet with Love and Theft).

This was the unofficial beginning of summer and it was the unofficial beginning of my summer concert schedule and the bar was set so high because of this amazing show.  I’m not going to say that I’m going to go again (because I’m not really that kind of girl – I want to spread the love around), but I might think about it.  And if I go, I might think about splurging and buying the VIP show.  I don’t know.  We’ll see what happens.  This coming up Sunday I have my 2nd show of the summer, so we will see how things go and then I can compare from there.  I do have a huge amount of pictures that I will post a few of later this week, I just haven’t done anything with them because I had a lot I needed to attempt to get done today.

But this concert was the perfect escape from reality and just what I needed to hopefully help get me through the rest of the school year.

So, stay tuned this week for a picture post with pictures from the show.  A post about another possible job career (sparked by a conversation I had with my brother when we were talking about the show).  A post about country music fans (and why they are the best in the entire world).  And a post about my blog-iversary (which is apparently today – May 27th).  And maybe more.  We’ll see.

I know that this was long and if you read the whole thing, thanks.

Have you been to any great concerts yet?  Have you attended the Tim McGraw concert this touring season yet?  What did you think?  What’s your favorite type of music?

Leave a Reply

