A Reminder To Live

I’ve always been a northeast girl.  I love my snow (for a little while each year, anyways).  I love my spring rain (even those gloomy days that seem to last forever – after all, it’s rumored we were supposed to actually be called Gloom County).  I love my summer heat (although it has been getting quite warm way more often lately…and my skin doesn’t always enjoy it).  And I love my autumn colors (even when I have to rake the leaves up after they fall off the trees).  We get some weather extremes.  But most of our extreme weather comes in the form of snowstorms and flooding.

Tornadoes scare me.  A lot.  A lot, a lot.  I remember one year we had tornado warnings and some tornadoes had touched down and I was freaking out.  I’d like to think that since then, I have become a little less type A and able to deal with things a little bit better.  But when this happened quite a few years ago, I hid in the bathroom (since it was the only safe place to go in my house) and was scared out of my mind.

The news of everything that has been happening in Oklahoma is heartbreaking.  I know that things like this have happened before.  And it seems that natural disasters are happening more frequently every year.  And I don’t think we’re becoming desensitized to them.  But sometimes it seems overwhelming to wonder how you can help everyone that has been affected by these storms.

But the point of this post was not (and is not) to lament the tragedy – there will be time for that once the full scope of the tragedy is known.  Today’s post is about a reminder to live.  And be thankful for things.  to remember that life is about working through the struggles and finding the silver lining always.  And to enjoy every moment that you possibly can.

I’ve had a challenging year.  A year that has had me question many things.  But it has also reminded me of many things.  Of what I have to be thankful for.  Especially this past year.

So, here are some of those things:

I am thankful for the experience of this year.  I had forgotten how much I loved English.  And reading.  And being in my own classroom.  It has been glorious to know where I am going every day and to be able to make my own plans.

I am thankful for my friends.  I am lucky to have friends that have stuck by me through a lot.  Friends that I know I will have for life – even as life pulls us in different directions and makes things extremely hard for us.

I am thankful for my family and that I am able to help them right now.  Because there will come a time when it is only right and natural for me to put myself first.

These are just a few of the things that I am thankful for.  And as hard and rough as life can be, I know I need to remember that there is plenty to be thankful for.  Because, in the end, even if I lose everything I have – I still have all that I have been given so far.at

And I also think that disasters like this make me think of things I want to accomplish.  And here are some of those things.

I want to write every single day.  I want to write a novel that I publish – even if it is publishing by myself that will maybe make someone want to read me and hear more from me with my writing.  The only way to do that is to write.  Every single day.

I want to start taking pictures again.  And writing poetry occasionally.  And being creative in all sorts of ways.

I want to start practicing yoga again.  It calms me and it toned me and it made me feel good about myself.  And that is what life is all about.

What do you have to be thankful for?  Do you have friends who have been affected by a natural disaster lately?  Do disasters like what has happened put you down or make you thankful for what you do have in your life?  We all have improvements we can make in our lives – do you have specific improvements you’d like to make in your life?

Leave a Reply

