Where Am I Going?

I had an interview today.  It was more of a screening interview than a full-on interview and if they choose to pursue me (and I hope they do), I will have more interviews.

And this is important to me.  Because – I’ve said this before (but I think I really mean it this time) – this next year is a make it or break it year.  This past year has been challenging.  Teaching is a challenging profession.  And going into a situation that I knew about but wasn’t 100% confident in was a challenge.  And I think I’ve risen to meet that challenge.  And I’ve enjoyed a lot of moments.  And now that my time is quickly winding down, I know that I will miss it.

But I also know that I could do something different.

A different age level.  A different school.  A different environment.  A different profession all together.

I just feel like I am all over the place.  My thoughts are not collected at all.  They are all over the place.  And I really don’t know what to do about it.  And I think that part of it is that I have no idea how to take some of my other thoughts and make them into real, paying work.

I’ve always wanted to be a teacher.  And so I think that it’s hard to know what to do with other things.

But I stand by something I said earlier – moreso than ever now.  Right now, at this moment, the one thing I’d like to do most is to travel with a band doing something to help them.  Actually, what I really want to do is to be able to travel and get to know a band (a country band, of course) and as a part of their team – that’s right, I am making up my own position as part of their team – I would interact with the people and I would pick a couple of people to come to the front row with me and then get to meet the band.

And I would take pictures and post videos and write wonderful stories about all of it.

And as I think about all of this – and the question during the interview about whether I want elementary or high school – I am reminded of an Alice in Wonderland quote.  So, I’ll leave you with that to ponder and ruminate.

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.
“I don’t much care where–” said Alice.
“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.
“–so long as I get SOMEWHERE,” Alice added as an explanation.
“Oh, you’re sure to do that,” said the Cat, “if you only walk long enough.”
(Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Chapter 6)

Leave a Reply

