The Unbalanced Life

So, in an attempt to balance my life better, I did some “fun” things this weekend.  I am feeling a little bit guilty because I still need to grade 15 essays, come up with plans for my seniors, fold laundry, shower and get a decent amount of sleep.  Yet, I’m so glad that I did what I did this weekend because it felt so nice.  To be a normal 26 year old and have a little bit of fun.

Friday night, I attended a dodge ball tournament that was put on by the sophomore class at the high school where I am working.  I was one of the 2 female teachers on the teacher dodge ball team.  And it was a lot of fun, way more fun than I was expecting to have and we got 2nd place – only losing to the same team and beating every other team we played.  After, we went out for a beer, which was nice.  But it meant that I didn’t get home until later than I had planned.

Saturday, I woke up and did not get to work like I wanted to.  I got caught up in playing stupid games on my tablet and trying to decide if I was going to go for my run or not.  I didn’t.  Instead, I finally got started on grading the essays that I needed to grade.  I only got one class graded – I had wanted to get two classes graded.

Then, I went out to the hockey game because I had this plan and I love hockey and I wanted to go.  We went out after.  And it was so fantastic.  Once again, I was out a little later than I should have been and had to be up extremely early the next morning.  So I was glad that I was out and hanging out with friends – and had such a great night, but I really should have gotten more sleep.

Sunday was a whirlwind.  I had a ton to do.  And clearly, haven’t finished just yet (it’s Sunday night right now).  So, I’m going to go and try to get some more work done while I watch Revenge – a guilty pleasure of mine.  Hopefully, I won’t be up too late because I have a very busy week ahead of me that will be ending in my going to see my best friend in Texas.

So, this weekend may not have been very balanced – or as balanced as it used to be.  It seems that in trying to balance, I overcompensated.  But sometimes overcompensation is exactly what is needed.

I need to get going and get back to work.

Have a great week everyone!

Leave a Reply

