Finding the Silver Lining?

It’s a bonus post for you (and a little lengthier than I had intended, so I understand if you don’t read it).  Take this from it: I need an attitude adjustment and I am doing my best to give myself one.

I read my horoscope every single day.  I’m not saying that I believe in astrology, but it’s kind of fun.  And I think you can probably make anything fit whatever situation you are in.  And I can usually do that with my horoscope.  Plus, if it’s something that I’m not expecting, I look forward to a possible surprise.  And if I’m having a hard time with something and my horoscope says something to that effect, I just think it’s the universe, not me.

I receive an email with multiple portions of horoscopes.  Today, my career horoscope said the following:  “You just can’t seem to get ahead, and all your best-laid plans aren’t working. You need an attitude adjustment. Call a friend, and download.”  And that is pretty much sums up how I’ve been feeling lately.  Which is okay – as long as it doesn’t last too long.

I have also started getting an email that is called Brave Girls Club.  I don’t know that much about the organization, but they do plenty more than just send out inspirational emails.  It’s a basically, almost daily email that I have grown to love and really enjoy reading.  And I’m sure that the other work they are doing is fantastic, but I am right now focused on the emails and how they are making me feel.  Here is today’s email.

im31913gA

I took a screen shot because I love the art that accompanies it and the entire set up just makes me happy as well – I couldn’t get the screenshot to work the way I wanted to, so you don’t get the art, but you can visit here to see the whole email in website form.  And this message was most definitely meant for me today, let me tell you that. 

I woke up this morning and made a bad choice.  You see, I’m on a dating website (I think I’ve mentioned it) and a while back, this guy messaged me and basically said that he didn’t think I’d be his cup of tea because he was just looking for friends with benefits.  He’s right.  I’m not looking for friends with benefits, but I kept messaging him – even after telling him that he was probably right.  Then, he stopped.  But every now and again – he messages me.  And so, I message him back.  And this morning when I was looking at an absolutely ridiculous message that someone had sent me (a message that just made me angry), he message me a very simple message.  And I responded.  And he didn’t.  I don’t know what I was expecting.  But he’s cute (at least his picture is).  And knowing that he is off limits makes it easier, but not.

You see, the first boy I really started to message (and he wasn’t really a boy, but I still like to call myself a girl, so I can call the men I’m interested in boys, right??  It’s the kid in me that won’t go away) disappeared as I was really falling for him.  Hard.  And I (clearly) still think about him.  Mostly because I hadn’t had anyone treat me that nicely.  And then disappear like that.  And it was stupid.

But I digress.  This boy messaged me this morning and I messaged him back.  And he didn’t.  And I had that bad message which was the only reason I’d logged onto the site.  And it put me in a really bad mood.  Plus, it’s the first day of spring – or at least according to the calendar, it’s the first day of spring.  If you looked through a camera in my area, you wouldn’t think so.  You see, we have snow.  And it’s cold.  And that’s not unusual for the first day of spring here, but I’m over winter right now.  And ready for spring.  And ready for spring break (which is just over a week away).  And so I just had a bad attitude.  A really bad attitude.

But as this message from the Brave Girls Club says: I need to, basically, adjust my attitude and find the good in things.  And here’s one good thing: I bout the new Kacey Musgraves album.  And it is fantastic.  You should definitely go pick up a copy and I will be reviewing it sometime soon hopefully.  I also always have amazing friends and coworkers that can lift my spirits and do a lot to remind me that I have much to be thankful for.

Basically, the lesson of all this: Look for the bright side – the silver lining (which is a Kacey Musgraves song on her new album) and run with it.  And that is what I am going to try and do from now on.

This post turned into something way longer than I had intended, but I guess that I clearly needed to get some thoughts and ideas out.  And I’m glad that I did.

Leave a Reply

