An Open Letter To Guys Everywhere

I’d like to preface this by saying that I can only speak for myself.  I have walls up and rarely discuss a lot of these things even with my closest friends (so it probably seems odd that I’m posting this here), so I can’t speak for other girls in my situation.  But this is how I feel.  And how I suspect many other girls feel as well.

Guys,

I’d like to begin by apologizing for when I was the girl that gave you my number and then ignored you.  I didn’t do this often, but I have done it before.  I have an inability to say no and so I try not to put myself in situations where I have to say no because it makes me feel excessively guilty.  So I gave you my number and then I ignored you.  It was really shitty and I know that now – so I apologize.

I am not looking for someone to be my best friend.  I have best friends.  I am looking for someone that will text me good morning and call me beautiful and tell me that they want to see me.  And then to follow through on those things.  Someone that will want to take me to the movies and will want to spend time with me even if it means that I am grading papers and you are watching television.  I want someone that will distract me during this time and then not get upset when I push them away because I have to get the work done.

I want a good morning beautiful text.  I want a hope your day’s going great text.  I want a I was just thinking of you and wanted you to know I was smiling text.  I’m not a complicated creature.  And I want a good night text.  Calls are even better, but I’m not picky at the beginning of things.  And when I text you, I want you to text me back.

I don’t want to play games with you.  I don’t understand why you would want to play games with me.  If you like me, say so.  If you want to go out with me, ask.  If I’ve been flirting with you, I’m going to say yes.  If you change your mind, let me know.  So I can stop thinking about you.  About what it would be like to lay in bed and watch a movie with you.  About how it would feel to kiss you.  About how it would be to date you.

So – what do girls want?  Girls want someone that will, honestly, call them beautiful and make them feel good about themselves.  You do not accomplish this by ignoring them.  But that’s just me.

I have one more apology to make.  To the one guy that I am aware of blowing off.  I apologize.  I was definitely given a different impression than you.  I realize now that I probably wasted a golden opportunity on you and (in the words of a great Lady A song) if knew then what I know now, I’d fall in love.  I hope you’re doing well.

So guys, make it happen.  Don’t be jerks.  Get it together and treat girls the way they deserve to be treated.

Leave a Reply

