2012: A Review?

That’s right, I put a question mark in my title. Why? It felt like the right thing to do. Because 2012 has been such a whirlwind of feelings and emotions, such a rollercoaster of events, such a year that I don’t know that I can do it justice. And part of that is because of my lack of reviewing once a month – something I’d maybe like to do next year. Anyway, let’s start with my resolutions. I made 4 of them. They were big, but they were general and they were things that I really thought I could do. You can check out the full post here.

I did not complete Resolution #1. I did lose some weight. And I was really healthy at the beginning of 2012. The last quarter of 2012 wasn’t so great. From September on, I sort of fell off the wagon (and picked it back up a little bit). I’ve gained back some of the weight, but not all of it. This will, again, be a focus in 2013.

Resolution #2 was another halfway there success. I did successfully complete my 365 project and it was great. I got some really great pictures out of it and I’m really glad that I did it. It forced me to pick up my camera at least once EVERY SINGLE DAY. I’d like to do it again. Because the 365 self project did not work. So I’d like to work in a 365 self project into my 365 project. My creative side will definitely be a priority in 2013 (and I believe this will fit in nicely with my healthier lifestyle goal…but more on those in another post).

Resolution #3 was a complete and utter success. A lot of this has to do with the fact that I was not teaching full time and I had all the time in the world to read most days. It was really great and I really loved it. I loved that I revisited a few books that I hadn’t read in a while (not many though, this year was about trying out new books, but I will always love The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants…forever) and I read many books that I probably never would have picked up. But it was successful. I don’t think I can commit to another one of these for a while because it would just be too hard.

Resolution #4 was another halfway success. I applied to, got accepted and even was ready to begin grad school. But I didn’t. It might be a big mistake, but there it is. I’m not sure what is going to happen with my teaching. You see, I am thinking about moving forward. And sometimes, I don’t know if teaching is the way to do it. I want to be a teacher. I love being a teacher. But it is so hard to do it. It is hard to not know what is going to happen next and know that you don’t have a job, or benefits, on a year to year and day to day basis. It’s as if I am waiting for this to happen so that my life can start, and we all know that can’t happen. (And more on this in my 2013 look ahead which will come tomorrow).

Those were my resolutions. It seems as if 2012 was the year of doing things halfway, which is not something I’m particularly proud of. But, if anything, it did give me a push in the right directions. And here are some other highlights from my year that weren’t at all a part of any of my resolutions.

I took a year long maternity leave teaching position in September. It was a surprise to me and something that almost didn’t happen. It was not in my original field and it has been one of the biggest challenges of my life. But it seems as if it is going well and I’m really glad that I decided to do it. I only wish that it were permanent and things weren’t so bad at the district where I have spent all my time.

I visited my love for country music (and live concerts) over and over again this year. I went to see more concerts than I ever have and I am happy to say that it was probably one of the best decisions I made. I also purchased more new music than I have in my entire life probably. It makes me feel good to spend my money on something that gives me so much joy. It really does. And it’s something that I do not want to forget because country music and live performances make me extremely happy.

My emotions towards myself and my family have been a bit off the chart. I couldn’t tell you the amount of times that I have wanted to do something different, anything different, in regards to them. But in the end, it’s a vicious circle because we are family and that means more to me than anything (even though sometimes I feel like it shouldn’t).

My spending habits got a little out of control and I’d like to fix those in 2013 so that I can keep a little bit of a nest egg for when I don’t have a job and still have bills next year, especially since I need to do some things with that money.

I have goals for 2013, they will arrive tomorrow. On the first of the year. Which seems so ridiculous and odd.

Overall, even if 2012 was a halfway year, it was a good year. A year that I have gotten through semi-successfully and that has brought me many great memories and many smiles, along with struggles and tears. Here’s to a great 2013!

Leave a Reply

