Ooopppsss….Here Goes Again

This week is going to be a better one.  I am determined about it.  I want it to be fun and to be able to do what I want and to get things accomplished.  Among those things are finishing Our Town with my 10th graders.  It will be fast-paced and I will have to push them, but I’m pretty sure that we can do it.  And also starting/finishing “Flowers for Algernon” with my seniors.  The short story version – seeing as how I am teaching a poetry and short story class…although I am very interested in reading the whole thing now.

And I was going to do a review of Florida Georgia Line’s new album.  And I will try to do it at some point this week, but I can’t guarantee anything.  See, last week, I had a long week.  And on Friday, I woke up late – yes, that’s right I woke up late.  And it freaked me out.  Because I haven’t done that at all this school year.  So, on Saturday when I slept until 10, I was shocked because I really didn’t think I would.  I mean, I was in bed by like 11ish and I thought for sure that I would be up by 8.  Nope.  10 AM.  And then I took a nap later that day too.  Craziness.

And my Friday was not nearly as productive as I had hoped.  I didn’t get any planning done.  I did not plan out my entire rest of the semester for my seniors.  I did not pick out what I wanted notes done on Our Town.  It was just craziness.  And I needed it.  But I needed to be productive more probably.

And so, a brand new week begins.  A week in which I am determined to do a few things.  I am determined to continue listening to Christmas music 24/7 (with the exception of a FGL review session) because it makes me happy and puts me in the Christmas spirit.  I am determined to exercise every single day.  I’m already planning a walk with my favorite new walking buddy already this week.  I will stay on top of my school work.  I will read my magazine and begin my book (might actually begin that tonight).  I will talk with friends and make plans to see them.

A pretty ambitious week, yes.  But I’m feeling revved up for a great week after a chat with a friend.  And I’m feeling pretty happy about life right at this moment and I hope that it continues through until the new year.  And I have so many blog posts that I want to write.  I wish that I had more time to write and use words and be better about life.  But I’m really excited about doing this unit with my seniors and I just hope they work well with me and do a good job with it.

So, a new week has started.  10 days of school (and that includes a day of shortened periods because of a holiday assembly).  1 weekend (that will be filled with grading).  And hopefully a couple of hockey games thrown in there (I went to the game Friday night, but not Saturday night this past weekend because of my lack of discipline and getting my work done).

It’s go time!  Let’s make this happen!!!

[ps.  it makes me very happy that my scheduled posts all go live at the same time…can you figure out why?]

Leave a Reply

