Something Special

I was a part of something extremely special last night.  I talked about it briefly on my post yesterday and why it was going to be a long day.

I was able to help and be a part of a benefit for a custodian at my high school.  At the beginning of the year, the custodian went out of school because of  a back injury.  While out, he was diagnosed with stage 4 pancreatic cancer.  The cancer quickly spread and infected his bones and his marrow.  His chances are not good.

A teacher, one that I had in high school and whom I look up to quite a bit, helped pull together a benefit spaghetti dinner for him.  The community – both the school and others – rallied around and helped to make this an extreme success.  There was the actual dinner portion of the evening.  There was a 50/50 raffle.  There were numerous basket raffles.

The dinner portion went extremely well.  A local business catered and (I believe) we only had to pay for the materials.  We had planned for 500 meals and the business ended up making 200 extra and towards the end of the evening, we still had to turn people away.  It was great.

The 50/50 and basket raffles also went well.  I do not know the specs on the 50/50 or basket raffles conclusively, but I believe we sold almost 300 basket raffle tickets (they were 12 tickets for $7).

I worked the entire evening and even won two baskets.  I am constantly astounded by this community.  I am always amazed (despite the fact that we dod it again and again) by how supportive they are when one of our own gets sick.  And I am constantly amazed by the teacher that helped to put this together – as she is constantly putting things like this together.

It makes me extremely grateful to be a part of this community.

Be ready for a few more thankful entries soon.  Because I am thankful for so many things.

Leave a Reply

