Books, Books, Books

There goes my love of titles that have the word three times.  I just find it fun and  entertaining.  Anyway, here is the post:

Last night, a glorious thing happened.  I went to the Penguin book sale.  It is a glorious event that happens every year and that makes me a very happy person (and also a little bit of a stressed out person).  It makes me happy because I get great books (and find some really great things) for a really cheap amount.  Also, I see children that actually do love to read and also come to find books upon books to gobble up – which helps me regain my faith in humanity.  It stressed me out because I get all these great books and don’t have time to read them (more so this year than last year).

This year, I went to the sale and bought $55 worth of books.  At one point when I was going to these, I was being frugal and not purchasing much because I didn’t have the money.  I also looked at the children’s section and tried to see if there was anything that I might want for a classroom.  Now, with my possible change of careers, I spent time on books for me (because I have money and could) and on a new type of classroom.  This really just means that I got books that are mainstream fiction and books that are young adult fiction.

My purchase totaled $55 as I already said.  With that $55, I purchased 27 books.  Which brings my total per book to just over $2 a book.  Had I paid full price for these books I would have paid over $428 – tax was included on my books and while I rounded list prices up to the nearest dollar, I didn’t calculate tax.  And that makes me extremely happy.  I currently have  YA novel in my purse waiting to be read.  I might start it tonight, although I spent time writing and catching up on my writing for the month so that I wasn’t behind (and I’m glad to say that I am not behind any longer). 

Below is a picture of my books and then a list of the titles and authors.  If you’ve read any of them/have any thoughts on any of them, let me know.  Some of them I really wanted and really paid attention to.  Others just caught my attention and I grabbed them because they seemed semi-interesting and were inexpensive (and who doesn’t love inexpensive/free books?).

What $55 worth of books looks like

Generation X by Jen Lancaster
Come in and Cover Me by  Gin Phillips
Ripper by Stefan Petrucha
Brownies and Broomsticks by Bailey Cates
The Thirteenth Sacrifice by Debbie Viguie
Inhuman Resources by Jes Battis
Port Mortuary by Patricia Cornwell
Painted Ladies by Robert B. Parker
Halting State by Charles Stross
Red Mist by Patricia Cornwell
Ten Beach Road by Wendy Wax
Restless Heart by Wynona Judd
Where She Went by Gayle Forman
The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler
What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen
Immortal City by Scott Speer
The Liar’s Lullaby by Meg Gardiner
Losers in Space by John Barnes
Down These Strange Streets edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois
The Orphanmaster  by Jean Zimmerman
The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder
An Accidental Affair by Eric Jerome Dickey
The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg
Origin by Jessica Khoury
The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott by Kelly O’Connor McNees
The Nightmare Theif by Meg Gardiner
The Front by Patricia Cornwell

So now that I have a reading list to last me quite a while, know where I will be hiding out for days at a time.

I also have Looking for Alaska by John Green that was loaned to me by a teacher.  So my reading list is pretty long and pretty extensive.  But it makes me happy too 🙂

Right now, it’s time for bed (I admit, and have admitted it before, I am writing this the evening before it will be posted) because I could have gone to bed when I got home at 7 – and it’s not 9 – and because I have a full day tomorrow.  But should be able to get in my words without a problem and maybe even do some reading – gasp!).

Leave a Reply

