High School Drama

I know, I am no longer a high school student, so what do I know about high school drama?  The truth: I know way more than I want to know about it!

In addition to my year long substitute position (which I promise to write more about later this week – or maybe early next week), I agreed to be the co-advisor to the senior class.  In my role as a co-advisor, I have been attending float meetings as we prepare for the annual homecoming parade.  These float meetings have been eye-opening.

The amount of drama that occurs between these high school students (especially the girls) is absolutely ridiculous.  And the things that they are arguing about and having drama about is so beyond what they need to be worried about.

When I hear these girls talking about their drama and hashing out the tales, I want to scream.  I don’t understand it.  I didn’t have this kind of drama when I was in school.  Why are they dealing with it.

I want to tell these girls the following things.

1. If you act like this in college, you won’t make any friends.  You will be left alone at the bar and have to find your own way home.  There is still drama in college, but you get dropped way quicker.

2. It is high school.  Enjoy your friends.  Keep your friendships strong. 

3. You have to work with people you don’t like all the time.  Learn strategies to deal with it now so you don’t look like a fool when you have to work with people you don’t like later in life.

Hearing about all the drama (and how involved the parents are in the drama) almost makes me want to never have kids.  Because I don’t want to deal with it.

What advice would you give to your high school self?  Or to high school kids (boys or girls) that are dealing with drama?

Leave a Reply

