Goals, Dreams, Ambitions

Goals.  We all have them.  Or at least we all should.  Goodness knows that I have many goals.  More than I can even begin to talk about probably.

Bringing in the post from yesterday, a major goal of mine is to be financially independent and to not have to worry about being able to pay my bills.  I don’t necessarily want to have enough money to always be able to do everything I want, but it would be nice to have enough extra that I would be able to do a little of the things that I am going to want to do in the next few years.  I want to be financially able to live on my own – even if it is only in a small apartment or if I need to be get a roommate.  I want to be able to pay off the debt that I have (my student loans, my car loan, the things I charge to my credit card every month).  I want to be able to keep my car running and do well with that.  I want to be able to buy presents for friends and family as the time comes.  Mostly, I don’t want the worry that I won’t have the money I need to run my life.

How am I going to gain this financial independence?  Well that has a lot to do with my other goals.  Goals that are large, grand and number pretty high.

I want to get a full time, probationary teaching position.  I mentioned yesterday that I have a teaching job for the year.  It is going well and I think that I am doing a good job, but I’m so scared and so worried about the fact that I will never be able to use my degree.  This fear has led me to not get a graduate degree because I don’t want to spend money on a degree that isn’t going to help me and is just going to put me into further debt.  By the end of the year, I am hoping that I am able to find a full time teaching job.  I would revert back to elementary school, but I am really enjoying the high school and teaching English as well.

I think that one of the reasons that I love teaching English so much is that I love to write.  I mean, I’m rambling on here pretty well.  I love to read as well.  And I think that the reason I love these so much leads me to my next goal.  I want to write and publish a novel.  A full length novel that makes sense and gives me the opportunity to make even more money.  It’s something that I have dreamed about for a while.  I have actual written good chunks of novels for the past few years during National Novel Writing Month.  And I have decided that I am going to participate in National Novel Writing Month again this year.  I don’t know how it will go, but I know that if I don’t do it, I will feel badly and I will wish that I were doing it.  I hope that I am successful and able to do well – but I guess that means that I need to start planning.  Plus, as I plan on telling the seniors that will be taking creative writing with me in the spring, you can’t learn creative writing by watching someone else do it.  You have to do it.  You have to write on your own.  And I think that writing runs a little bit in my family – distant relatives are successful writers and it gives me some hope.

Speaking of writing and teaching creative writing in the fall.  If it goes well and is something that I enjoy (and I really think that I will enjoy it tremendously) – I would love to teach a college course on creative writing at some point.  I think it’s something that would be really great for me and give me some really great release from high school pettiness that sometimes occurs and something that would help me to hone my own writing career.

I would love to begin taking more pictures.  I fell in love with photography a little bit when I successfully completed a 365 project and attempted to complete a 365 Self Photo project (where I took a picture of myself every day).  If I am able to take photos, I would want to take portraits and landscape photographs.  I think that being able to do this would give me another creative outlet and would be really great for me.  I think that this will be something that takes a while to make happen and may never happen.  But I think I will definitely start a few projects again soon.

I want to begin doing yoga again.  When I was doing yoga regularly, I felt so great about myself.  In doing it, I felt great about myself.  And as a result of feeling better about myself, I was eating better and doing things that were better for my body.  I did not expect to fall in love with yoga, but it’s something that I really want to start focusing on again.  I may stop doing other “physical” exercise and begin focusing on yoga again.  I want to be the type of person that inspires other people to take up yoga.  Because I think that yoga is fantastic.

I want to find a guy that I can hang out with.  I’m not going to ramble on about this too much because I just talked about it in a post previously.  But it’s so hard to see people that are so happy with families beginning and their lives beginning.  And I am not able to feel that.  Because finding a guy and thinking about starting my own family (even if it doesn’t include children right away), is really important to me.

I want to find friends that will attend any country concert with me that I want to go to.  And I want to find friends that will buy a season’s worth of hockey tickets with me.  Because I love both of these things and they make me extremely happy.

So, what does my ideal life look like in five years?  Let me tell you.  I am a high school English teacher.  I have a more developed teaching style and, therefore, I don’t feel as if I am always trying to play catch up and not having my own life (although, all people have to put in their time at the beginning and I am definitely at the beginning of my career right now).  During the summers, I will be traveling and writing.  I will travel the United States.  I don’t have a huge wanderlust, but I want to see more of this country that I call home.  And I want to travel to Canada.  And maybe, I will even want to travel overseas at some point (but I don’t have a desire for that at all right now).  And on the weekends, I will be taking pictures and loving life.

In short: I am a successful teacher and novelist.  During the school year, I am working hard on teaching and possibly drafting a novel.  During the summer, I am writing/editing/publishing novels and traveling.  In my free time, I am reading and writing and taking photographs.  I am married or in a long term relationship.  And I am surrounded by friends that love country music and hockey.

I know this was long – and if you read it all, kudos to you!  For now, I have to get back to my life.  My teaching, my advising, my world.  I know these are lofty goals.  But I also know that I can achieve them.  And hopefully I can achieve them well.

Until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

