Have I Fallen Off The Face Of The Earth?

So one of the reasons that I feel as if I am not very good at dating is that I am not very good at communication.  Growing up, I feel as if communication is hindered when you are in a large family.  Most of your communication takes place in school and then you go home to your family.  Once you are home, you don’t have the resources to let everyone have their own home and you don’t have the opportunity to chat with others.

And as a result of that, I think that my communication skills – especially when they are put to the test and distance is involved – suck. 

I don’t keep in touch with others well.  In fact, I have a horrible time keeping in touch with others.  I don’t like to talk on the phone.  I don’t think that texting works very well.  And I’d rather have the opportunity to sit down with someone to catch up.

So, I let days, weeks and months go by before I contact friends and loved ones.  And it’s something that I am not proud of at all.  Because I don’t like to talk on the phone.  I am better in writing than I am in person.  So something that I really want to work on is keeping in touch with my friends (and family) better.

I don’t want weeks and months to go by and have no idea what is going on in my friend’s lives.  I want to have the opportunity to stay in my friend’s lives and really continue to get to know them and share my life with them. 

I don’t want to get married and not be able to invite people because I’m not sure if they want to be there or not.

I don’t want to get sick or move and not be able to call anyone or have anyone to talk to because I didn’t keep in touch with friends that went away (or I went away).

I don’t want to have to be all by myself all the time because I don’t have any friends.  I want people to want to come and visit me.  And I want people to enjoy my company.  And I want to stay in touch with the people that mean the most to me.

So, I apologize for the time that has passed since we last talked.  I have been selfish and I’ve been busy.  And I know that’s not an excuse because you are busy as well.  But hopefully I can make this happen better.  Hopefully I can keep in touch with you better and we can be good friends again. 

Because more than anything, I don’t want to lose a friend just because I wasn’t able to keep in touch with them.  That is inexcusable.

How do you stay in touch with friends?  Creative ways to make sure that you don’t forget someone or forget to tell someone something that has happened to you?  Alternatives to phone (that don’t have to do with the internet since I don’t have internet right now either)?

Leave a Reply

