The End…The Beginning

Summer school is almost over and I am extremely happy about that.  I took the summer school job because I didn’t have summer work and I haven’t decided if it was worth the money or not.  I definitely put in more hours than I got paid for – but what teacher doesn’t?  I don’t know how well I did or if that can even be evaluated because of the way the program was run.  It has been something that I have not necessarily looked forward to over the past 5 1/2 weeks.  Luckily, I am at the end and I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.

I think the part that was hardest for me was that the program was something I was completely unfamiliar with.  I did not have access to the course materials, despite believing that I would (and every teacher should have access to the materials they are supposedly teaching).

The program was all online and the kids didn’t really want to be there – of course, which kid does want to be in summer school.  The two hour blocks were too much for the kids to handle, but had it been any shorter many of the kids wouldn’t have made it through.

All in all, I think it was a challenge (and not necessarily in a good way) because I was such a late hire and then I was thrust into an atmosphere that, in my opinion, was not the best for learning.  It was a learning experience and I will take a lot from it. In addition, the material is not a subject that I had ever taught before and I’m not sure that I prepared students adequately.

I guess we’ll see how it all works.  Oddly enough, this experience hasn’t dampened my spirits at all for the coming school year.  Of course, next week, when summer school is finished and I have nothing to think about and I start to freak out about next year, we might have a different story.  Now, I know that having all of the kids pass the test they need to take (I have six students taking the test) would give me a big boost, but I honestly don’t know what is going to happen.

It’s been a crazy run and I’m glad that it’s going to be over and I will have a week of nothing and then a week of family before school starts up.  It’s going to be a crazy, fast two weeks and then chaos will ensue!

What does the end of your summer look like?

Leave a Reply

