A Long, Wonderful Weekend

3 hour drive in horrible weather and half a tank of gas: $20
Admission into Darien Lake: $27
A Night at the Hotel: $120 (paid for by someone else)
Brad Paisley concert ticket: early attendance to upgrade cars to VIP parking
Guitars and Stars Ticket: $30 and a night of camping out
A Wonderful weekend with friends that was all about country music: PRICELESS

That is my weekend in a nut shell.  Now, let me break it down for you a little bit.

My weekend started Thursday evening after I had gone to my fitness boot camp.  I left to head to Rochester for some fun with friends.  The drive up to Rochester was completely awful.  The sky was lit up by lightning for pretty much 85% of my trip.  So I had a hard time seeing because one second the sky would be bright from the lightning and the next it would be pitch black because the lightning was recharging.  I also ran into a few downpours – and I’m talking about the type of downpours that you shouldn’t really be driving in.  I didn’t stop though.  I made it to Rochester alive and parked my car at my friend’s house.

She wasn’t there yet, so once she got there we chatted some and then we got to bed so that we could have some sleep and be prepared for our weekend of fun and fantasticness.  Thursday evening was probably the night I got the most sleep and best sleep, but I probably should have gone to bed earlier than I did.

Friday, we woke up and headed out to go to Darien Lake – the theme park, not the concert area.  It ended up being a pretty great day for the park.  The weather was questionable, which meant that there were pretty much no lines for anything at all.  We had a lot of fun and even though it did end up raining for a good portion of the later afternoon, we got on every ride we wanted to go on except the Ferris Wheel, which they shut down as soon as it started to sprinkle and never opened back up.

We went to the hotel and checked in during the afternoon and went back to the park after it wasn’t raining as hard/any more at all.  So, when we were done, we just went back to the hotel for the night.  We ended up going to bed pretty early, but I don’t think that any of us slept very well and the beds weren’t as comfortable as I would have liked.

Saturday was our concert day.  We got up and checked out of the hotel.  We managed to get a late check out which was nice because then we wouldn’t be heading to the park quite as early as we were going to be before that.  So after all of us getting showered (and watching the end of Miss Congeniality and all of Miss Congeniality 2 – while getting ready…yay for multi tasking), we checked out of the hotel and got some lunch.

After lunch we headed to the park, even though we were still early.  We hung out and chatted with friends while we waited for our liason to contact us and let us know she was ready for us to start working.  Then, came the concert.  An entire post about the concert is coming tomorrow, but let’s just say it was pretty great.  The weather got a little bit cold, but it didn’t rain on us at all for the entire show.  Great show and great times!

After the show, we headed back to Rochester where we were heading to Dome Arena to camp out so that we could get reserved seats for Guitars and Stars.  When we got to Dome Arena it was about 1:00 AM and we set up our tent and talked with the few people that were already there and not in their cars.  At about 2:00, I was in the tent and my sleeping bag and ready to go to sleep.  I did not fall asleep right away.  I did not stay asleep for any considerable amount of time.  And my friend (who slept even less than me) woke me up just before 6:30 so that I could go keep watch on our spot as more people were starting to show up.

We were pretty close to the front and we made some friends and were able to stay dry the entire day.  Tickets went on sale at 2:00 PM, but the radio station let us get started a little bit early (as I’m sure that the Reserved seats were going to sell out).  I enjoyed this because it meant that I was able to head out and get home earlier.  Our tickets for the show are pretty much exactly what we wanted – 3rd row and towards the center of the stage (we think).  I’m pretty excited about the show because for $30 I am getting a ticket to see Martina McBride, Lonestar, Justin Moore, Randy Houser and Greg Bates.  It should be pretty great and I’m pretty excited about it.

I came home and headed to McDonald’s where I used the internet (since we still don’t have internet at home) to watch Thursday’s episode of Big Brother…remember how I was driving through a horrible storm to start my weekend??…and to check my email for some things I needed to look at.  I was not super happy about the emails that I got, but it’s life and I’ll have some vacation soon to enjoy a little bit of time off.

This week is going to be hard since I definitely didn’t get enough sleep or eat properly this weekend.  But it was a once in a lifetime weekend – as you can tell – and was 99.99% perfect.  The only things I would change were that it wouldn’t have rained at all on Friday…or at least not as hard as it did.  And I would have met Jana Kramer and Love and Theft (more about that in the post tomorrow about the concert).  After such an amazing week, it’s going to be tough getting back into the swing of things at summer school and finishing that up (but only one week left – and a post to come on that as well).

I hope everyone else had a great weekend as well!  Let’s get this week started and over with!

Leave a Reply

