Crazy, Exciting, Beautiful Life

Today is a day that I am going to overwhelm you like I have been overwhelmed for the past week.  It’s been really crazy and I have a lot to talk about and I think it’s even okay to talk about it now – which is why I didn’t say anything earlier this week.

One week ago, I went in for an interview for a long term position for the upcoming school year.  When I got to that interview, the now principal, I was asked to go over to another building for a different interview when I was done.  When I got to the other building – once my original interview was – I was too early.  So, I left and then I went to a funeral that I was singing at.  I went back for the interview.  A few hours later, after a bunch of getting the run around, I got a phone call saying that they needed to talk to another reference…at 3:30 PM on a Friday afternoon of a basically holiday weekend.  I found someone.  And at just about, or a little before, 5 PM I was hired for summer school that started on Monday.

Summer school has been a bit of a challenge.  The courses are all online and we were having computer issues and it was quite disorganized.  It has gotten better, I think.  And, hopefully, next week it will be drama free and the kids will be able to work and get their information and figure it all out.

Monday, after summer school, the now principal asked if I could come and talk with him.  So, I did.  I went and talked with him about my interview.  The interview went well, the talk went well.  And I was offered the position.

So, next year, I will be a teacher.  For the entire year.  In an English classroom.  It’s real.

If you had told me three years ago when I graduated from Niagara that I would have my first year long teaching position (since the position I have is going to be a year long) was going to be in English, I would have laughed in your face.

But I am very excited.  I think it will be really great for me and I’m excited to have a full year of having a classroom that is all mine.  I’m so excited about it!  It’s going to be a really great experience.

So, that’s been my life.  I have today off.  My aunt might be coming down.  And I’m going to try to maybe do lunch.

And hopefully the rest of the summer school is a little less stressful and I can enjoy the rest of my time before things get really crazy with a full time teaching job and grad classes.

Maybe this wasn’t overwhelming for you.  My writing needs some work, but I’m tired and I’ve been stressed and so I don’t have anything else to say right now.

Have you been overwhelmed (in a good or bad way – since I’ve been overwhelmed in both this past week) by anything lately?  How do you deal with stress when you’re overwhelmed?  Do you have any news to share with me?

Leave a Reply

