Rascal Flatts: A Concert Review

So, the day after I went to go see Brad Paisley (which was a surprise – but really great), I went to go see Rascal Flatts at Darien Lake.  This show had been on my calendar for a while and I was pretty excited about it.  I should disclose right here, right now that I was more excited for the opening acts than I was for Rascal Flatts.  See, I like Rascal Flatts, but I liked them more when they were first on the scene.  I don’t think they’ve grown tired, but I just like their older stuff better.

So, let’s talk openers.  This show was jam-packed.  I fear from these two shows, I have been really spoiled.  Because Rascal Flatts had three opening bands.  The first was Edens Edge.  I fell in love with Edens Edge back in April when I saw them live at Guitars and Stars in Rochester and I’m thrilled to say that I had a meet and greet with them.  Which was so fantastic.  And they opened the show in the best possible way.  They played every single song that me and my friend wanted to hear and we were so thrilled by their set.

After Edens Edge came Eli Young Band.  I was excited for them as I’ve seen them once before.  They put on a solid show, but I was disappointed in the lighting as it only focused on Mike Eli and he isn’t the only one in the band.  Regardless, they played all their hits and really kept the crowd amped up.  I sort of left during their set as I didn’t want to miss the next band and thought it would be hard to go between them and Rascal Flatts because I’d never get back to my spot.

Right before Rascal Flatts came on, Little Big Town performed.  It’s hard to say if I was more excited for Edens Edge or Little Big Town, but I think Little Big Town probably put on a better performance (if only because they performed for longer).  As always, Little Big Town did everything right.  I got to hear songs from their new album – that I will be purchasing when it comes out in September.  I got to hear Pontoon, which is a great summer anthem if you haven’t heard it.  And I got to enjoy them, as I always do.  They really are my favorite band and I am thinking when their site actually goes live again, I would love to buy a fan club membership for them.  It never gets old seeing them.  And I will do it over and over again for as long as they perform.

Finally came Rascal Flatts.  As I mentioned earlier, I was probably least excited for them to play.  But they do put on a good show.  I would say that the biggest disappointment for me was that they didn’t really play any of their songs off their new album.  I understand that they have a lot of hits and that fans want to hear them, but I really enjoyed their new album and was looking forward to hearing them play some of those songs – and they didn’t.  There was one song (and I feel awful that I can’t remember what it was) where their harmonies just sounded heavenly.  I stopped singing, but it was still a little difficult to hear them as the rest of the crowd was singing along loudly.  I also liked that they showcased Jay and Joe Don with their instruments as that is a big part of who they are.

Overall, it was a really great show and I loved that they brought the three opening bands back out and sang American Band at the end.

It was a great two days and I will have pictures from both concerts on Friday in a slide show, I just didn’t get the chance to get them all done yet.

Leave a Reply

